Day 4 - Dousman WI - Viking Quest ~ 2023 - CycleBlaze

Day 4 - Dousman WI

Dousman is a village in Waukesha County, Wisconsin,

Day 4, 5:00 a.m., all night the wind was blowing especially as I finished up with my in-tent movie.

That wind got louder and was accompanied by lightning and thunder.  Then this came....

Heart 0 Comment 1
Tamora StumGlad you made it through that mess!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago

The storm pounded the Hubba Hubba, but I stayed dry! A cool experience that I'd rather not encounter too often.

So, as the story goes Ingvar and I headed out around 8 am as the skies cleared.  The route was 90 percent trails - paved too.   Amazing it took me through towns and west of a city in calm low-traffic paths.

Almost forgot route. It was a slight grade up I was told...they were correct!!!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Saw a lot of closure signs from the earlier storm.  One spot I traversed -  even though it said closed -  left me balancing my bike and body not to fall into a deep hole.

Thought these were cool - hey wifey we should do this!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Well the GEMs of the day were meeting two fellow cyclists.  First was a recumbent rider - can't remember her name....so sorry.  I stopped for water and she tried to help me with local places to stay.  So kind of her to reach out to a stranger in need.

Heart 0 Comment 0

The next GEM was Dee at the  Bicycle Doctor.

My wifey spoke with Dee ahead of my arrival asking for a possible overnight spot and shower.   When I arrived Dee was so kind.  She listened to my stories and made me feel comfortable.  I was pretty done by then and she knew it.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Dee operates a beautiful full-service store with an inside coffee / bar, so cool. I told her this was a must see stop along my route.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Dee made me feel like a Viking Warrior Captain - showing me around the shop and letting me cleanup in the bathroom.  I presented her with my "kindness" packet and she presented me with a new-arrival cycling cap - how kind!

Dee thank you so much for the hospitality and kindness! Oh, good luck on your ride!!!

A recovery walk and food closed the day!

Heart 1 Comment 0
Local flavor
Heart 1 Comment 0
This too...
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 49 miles (79 km)
Total: 138 miles (222 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Tamora StumHope you don't get too many of those bad storms hubby! Stay Safe! Love T
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Keith A. SpanglerIt wasn’t the worst, but it made me think…
Reply to this comment
8 months ago