A close shave in Melbourne - Three Good Blokes tackle the Best of Victoria - CycleBlaze

October 21, 2022

A close shave in Melbourne

Healesville to Croydon

it’s our last proper day of riding, although we do have to cycle to Southern Cross Station in Melbourne tomorrow to catch a midday train to Albury. We’re about 40ks out due to tomorrow being Derby Day and accommodation was scarce and very expensive.

The forecast rain for the early morning didn’t eventuate and we again had perfect conditions with high cloud and no wind for todays ride. My kit has taken a battering this trip and I had 3 wardrobe malfunctions trying to get dressed this morning with my right cycling shoe falling apart, my gloves ripping and my sunglasses breaking.
We had eleven kilometres on a crappy road to get back to the rail trail with a narrow verge and too much traffic. I dropped my chain early on and it wedged in between my crank and the chain ring and I couldn’t for the life of me get it released. It took 15 minutes and several hands to dislodge it. Once back on the trail life returned to a more peaceful normal. We are definitely not used to traffic!

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

We left the Rail Trail just before Lilydale and we’re suddenly in the ‘burbs. There’s really good connecting bike paths that take us towards Croydon so we spend little time on the road. Lunch at Mooroolbark extended to a haircut and razor shave at the nearby barber. We felt and looked so much better.

I fell asleep!
Heart 2 Comment 0
A bit shiny for my liking.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Dinner was at an Italian restaurant nearby. The heavens finally opened mid meal. I think we have made it to the correct Melbourne after all.

Closest thing to Sunflowers for the whole trip.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Not a bike crash. It’s the intrepid lengths the official tour photographer goes to to get the money shot.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 45 km (28 miles)
Total: 924 km (574 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0