A cooking class - Via Francigena - CycleBlaze

August 25, 2023

A cooking class

For something a little different Tim and I took an outdoor cooking class from Giuseppe on how to make real Italian wood fired pizza and also 2 types of pasta.  I doubt that I will make my own pizza dough because I don’t have the proper mixer, and I am not going to buy one, but I know how improve making pizza with my Holy Napoli dough that I buy frozen.  Pasta on the other hand is something I might try.  We made an egg based pasta, fettuccine, and a water based but three coloured cavatelli (little hollows).  Of course there was wine and limoncello and tiramisu not made by us.

The cooking school that we went to outside the city of Rome.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Tim learning how to stretch the pizza dough, it isn’t as easy as it looks.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Giuseppe cooking the pizza in a wood fired oven at 420C. It only takes about a minute.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Of course olive oil is added after it is cooked.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Enjoying the pizza, mine was of course a margarita.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rolling out a pesto cavatelli.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Cutting fettuccine on pasta guitar which is a technique used in the Abruzzi region. You can also just cut it with a knife.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Tim enjoying the cavatelli with tomato sauce and the fettuccine with a percorino and black pepper sauce called Cacio e Pepe one of the 4 classic pastas.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Beth KavanaghGreat activity! We will no longer be cooking Italian for the two of you. You guys are now the experts. Tim looks like he is in his glory.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Keith Adams" I doubt that I will make my own pizza dough because I don’t have the proper mixer, and I am not going to buy one"

For decades, I hand-kneaded my made-from-scratch pizza dough. Mixers make the job faster, easier, and tidier but they aren't strictly necessary.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago