Tour-end Thoughts - Return to Cycle-OPOLIS (Tour 22) - 2022 🇵🇹 - CycleBlaze

May 12, 2022

Tour-end Thoughts

A theme that quietly began a few tours ago, a few years ago, yet really is the essence of who I am, is the nostalgic interwoven threads of time. Or, as the Doctor said, timey-wimey wibbly-wobbly.

Isn't it odd how another norm are those pre-tour jitters I always get and are stronger each tour, yet at the end of riding, I wonder to myself what on earth was I worried about? Of course, I was worried about all of those things that were never going to happen.

I get a certain satisfaction from connecting these threads of time. When, as a teen, our family set forth to discover Portugal. I know none of us suspected the impact that that brief period of time would have on all of us for years to come. From those days in 1982 to decades later in 2003 on a cross Europe journey to make some life decisions, another layer was added,  then strengthened in 2015, 2017 and 2019, until today's present, 2022. From the perspective of some of those middle years, 2022 is the future while 1982 is the past. These are ramblings of perspective, I guess. 

I can type a lot yet say nothing. I think that my looking at these various time threads you can look at your life from different vantage points. Among other things, it can lend an appreciation for what we have, what we have had and what we have seen and done.

I dedicated this tour to my mom and dad who have always been an inspiration to me and continue to be an inspiration.  Thank you Mom and Dad for sharing in my threads of time. I love you both.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0