Oct 4, 2021 - If, then where? - Return to Cycle-OPOLIS (Tour 22) - 2022 🇵🇹 - CycleBlaze

October 4, 2021

Oct 4, 2021 - If, then where?

DESPITE the goings-on over the last little while I have been riding in my part of northeastern Ontario, Canada. At least during the warmer months, which, thankfully, came much earlier than normal this year and are lasting later than normal this year. Having temps in the 20s into October is unusual. I'll take it. 

Furthermore, I actually slipped away for a couple of smallish tours within my own province this season which were absolutely smashing. But now, Europe is so very tantalising... with images of limestone, vineyards and history, starting to wash over my online meanderings, I am feeling that oh-so-strong pull to a part of the world that captivates me.

Still in the dream stage, I am, nevertheless, starting to sort things just in case the world behaves in a way that pleases me. Nervous to spend time in crowds, I am looking for somewhere that Air Canada can take me directly so I don't have to spend endless hours in an airport in Frankfurt, Rome, Paris or such. Moreover, an Air Canada flight is so much cheaper than others when taking a full size bike. And finally, I can start in nearby Timmins which has AC connectors to Pearson Airport, Toronto. With this in mind and what with offerings so drastically reduced these days, that leaves a short list indeed.

Pulling out my to-go list and comparing it with the above criteria leads my mind to either Barcelona or Lisbon. The former would be a route from Barcelona to Bilbao, basically just below the Pyrenees. The latter would be along the N2 road from Chaves in northern Portugal, to Faro, on the Algarve coast. Alternatively, there is the northern section of EV1 along the Atlantic coast of Portugal that is showing promise. This with a slight diversion or two.

Now I have to don my big-cyclist thinking cap... helmet... and decide:

"If, then where?"

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Steve Miller/GrampiesHey, we are thinking about Spain and Portugal as well. We would start in February. EV1, on the Portugese Atlantic coast figured in the plan, but we have noticed N2 as well. Do you have any info on how bike friendly N2 may be?
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Brent IrvineFrom what I have read, this highway never really got used much for regular vehicular use so in terms of how busy it is - it is not busy at all, yet is well-surfaced. Depending on your daily distances there could be some slightly longer days but if you go 50 to 60ish km/day I think that worksnin terms of accommodations. Going north to south, the route is hillier to start, then seems to be less so after the Douro.

Getting to Chaves can be done by bus from Lisbpn or Porto with Rede Expressos who do take boxed or wrapped bikes and rates are very cheap. The Lisbon-Chaves bus is about 6 hours. There is an IC train from Faro station to Lisbon which takes assembled bikes and takes about 3 to 4 hours.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Brent IrvineTo Brent IrvineThe EV1 route north of Lisbon is nice but more touristy whereas from Lisbon south to Lagos is less so and is spectacular. N2 is apparently not touristy and very 'real' ... this is what appeals to me about this route.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago