Day 28 - West Texas Wind - The Borders of the US - CycleBlaze

February 25, 2024

Day 28 - West Texas Wind

Well now that was a day. Easily the hardest day of this entire trip. I got up around 5:30 and packed up. I didn’t want to go but once I was out I was glad I did. I said goodbye to Rachelle and was really sad. Said bye to Peyton and then I went to wake Hayden up but he wouldn’t move at all. Once I got going there was a nice sunrise. I was wishing I was back with the Dennett’s. The first 20 miles were pretty easy. Just worked hard and made it to a gas station for breakfast. Not too windy. Immediately after that the winds picked up. I went straight into them for about 30 miles which was so hard. I was stopping about every 5 miles which I’ve never stopped that often before. It was getting hot and then eventually I made it lunch at 50 miles. I got so many stares like always but no one said hi after I said hi to about 10 people. After that I got going again. It was hot. It was windy. I was still stopping about every 5 miles. Before lunch I had a big nose bleed and after lunch my chain fell off. I went through Ira and I thought there would be a store/gas station to fill up water. It seemed like almost everything in that town was shut down. I had 35 miles left and was running out of water quickly. I knew I’d have to start rationing it. It was so hot and I wasn’t doing a great job at conserving my water. I saw a sign for a convenience store and almost finished all my water. I was still about 20 miles out. When I got to the store it was all boarded up. Glad I saved my water. I saw a water bottle that someone threw out their window. It was a quarter full so I got it and saved it for later. I stopped a few miles later cause I was tired and thirsty. Don drove by and asked if I was ok. I ran over to him and asked for water. He drank out of half of one but gave the rest to me. So thankful for the kindness of strangers. Eventually I had 15 miles left. It was so hard. That wind was killing me. The hills were hard. It was so hot. I was so dehydrated. Mimi texted me a prayer and I hung up pretty quickly on my mom. And I broke down for the second time. I started hyperventilating for the first time. I felt so bloated. I was breathing so hard. Everytime I got off my back I thought I would fall down I was so dizzy. My heart rate was way too high for what I was doing. It was scary. Somehow (God) I made it to the rv park. Listened to West Texas Wind. Showed up here and called Grace. A man named René said I could shower in his rv. So I did. Then Donovan (whose house I stayed in last night) came to say hi which was so good to see him again. Talked to Mimi and Papa, Jane, JT, Eli, and Ruby. Got to talk to my parents and then SJ too. Hardest day of riding. Maybe one of the best nights yet? I can’t wait to get to bed. Dad comes tomorrow!!! Also when René came back he invited me back to his rv for sandwiches and ice cream. Thank you René!!!!!! 

Heart 4 Comment 1
Heart 8 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 9 Comment 0

Today's ride: 97 miles (156 km)
Total: 2,140 miles (3,444 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Tony SeisserTell your Pop Happy Birthday from the DG Team!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Rachelle DennettMiss you so much kiddo. You have a lot of people praying for you on your journey. I added you to our prayer list at church yesterday. The boys can't stop talking about you and they are ready to go see you. Love ya and be safe.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Elizabeth HubbardJude!!! My heart is bursting with joy knowing your dad is on the same hot Texas road biking towards you right now!!! So so thankful you two get this week together. Praying it is a comfort and encouragement to your heart. Jude, I think you’re so brave for getting up each day and getting it done. You spur me on!! I’m praying for you and cheering you on!! I love you! Love, mom
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jude HubbardTo Rachelle DennettThey should come out here :)
Probably all too busy so I’ll just come back soon :)
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jude HubbardTo Elizabeth HubbardIt was a comfort knowing he was out there. Even more of a comfort now that he’s here
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jude HubbardTo Tony SeisserHe says thanks :) 🤠
Reply to this comment
2 months ago