Day 029 - Strasburg to Columbia - Two Far 2023 - Oranges to Apples - CycleBlaze

May 14, 2023

Day 029 - Strasburg to Columbia

Heart 1 Comment 0

We had a nice leisurely day today.  I had less than 30 miles to ride today, so we had a late breakfast, and then visited the National Toy Train Museum.  It was around noon before we left the museum and I got underway.   

This one's for Kelly :-) The Red Caboose Motel was adjacent to the museum.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Kelly IniguezYou missed your chance!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago

The National Toy Train Museum is just down the road from the Railroad Museum of Pennsylvania, which we visited yesterday.  Besides having static displays as shown below, there we several operating layouts which visitors could run by pressing various buttons on the display case.  I spent a lot of time making the various trains run :-)

This was the largest model in the museum.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
There were toy trains from as early as the 1870's
Heart 0 Comment 1
Rose SamsonThese toy trains are beautiful. I can only wish we have something like this in Florida. I can hear kids saying "Wow....Look at that".
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
A display of Marx trains.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 2
Rose SamsonAmazingly beautiful! Every child who can see these trains would ask their Dad to build one!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithKerry's dad built him a train layout in the basement when he was a kid. He had lots of happy memories of it. We have some of his old train cars displayed in the study.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
There was a large display case of toy train accessories. Although not shown here, many of them were made from cardboard.
Heart 0 Comment 0
An interesting display on the steps in making a toy train.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
This was the power supply and control panel for one of the displays.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Marklin Wounder Wheel.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

A first for me, Jeanna shot the video, but I loaded it to YouTube, which I've never done before.  I hope it works for everyone.

My seemingly daily navigational Snafu was getting on the Enola Low Grade Trail.  Ride-With-GPS shows a simple right turn off of Hollow Road.  As I approached what I thought would be an intersection, I saw a railroad bridge crossing over the road.  As soon as I rode under the bridge, I saw a parking area on the right but there was no trail access.  I rode on a ways, looking for the access, before turning around. I rode back under the bridge, thinking I had somehow missed it, but I hadn't.  I then went back to the parking area to ponder things, when I happened to look up and see a very steep dirt path across the road. Even then, I wasn't sure this led to the trail, because it ran parallel to the trail.  Only at the top, and out of sight, did it bend around to the trail.  Life would be much easier if they would mark things!

The "access" to the Enola Low Grade Trail. I was unmarked and I rode past it a couple of times before I realized that this was the entrance to the trail. It leads up to the trestle that crossed over the road.
Heart 1 Comment 0
View from the top of the access. It was tough pushing the bike up this path.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The Enola Low Grade Trail. The hardpack surface was in excellent shape. Before getting on it, I was concerned about the shape it would be in after all the rain we had yesterday. However, it must not have rained in this area, because the trail was completely dry (and as my bike will attest, dusty)
Heart 1 Comment 0
I met Pat & Gini as soon as I got on the trail and we rode together for a few miles. Having someone to talk to makes the miles melt away.
Heart 1 Comment 0
View from the Martic Forge Trestle. The trestle crosses Pequea Creek and just reopened in October 2022 after an arsonist burned it down in 2018. There is a road on each side of the creek, and the power poles give a sense of how high the trestle is.
Heart 1 Comment 0
An old shed as seen from the trestle.
Heart 0 Comment 0

About 6 miles after I got on the trail, the trail makes a right turn and follows the Susquehanna River for the rest of its length.   Just as I was approaching the Safe Harbor Dam, I rode by some sheer cliffs.  I soon learned that the area was very popular with rock climbers. 

Stern, in the foreground is helping Em, who is just getting underway. Leah is in the background.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Here, Leah is assisting Walker, who is hidden in the trees.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Leah & Walker, after Walker had descended from his climb. I learned that this is slab climbing because the rock face is sloped. Walker waxed on about how easy slab climbing was because you could walk right up, but I wasn't convinced, nor did I want to try.
Heart 1 Comment 0
View of the Safe Harbor Dam on the Susquehanna River. It forms Clarke Lake.
Heart 1 Comment 0
View downstream from the dam.
Heart 1 Comment 0
View of Clarke Lake, just above the dam.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The trail widens considerably where it follows the river.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Strickler Falls is just about a mile from our hotel.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Rose SamsonI grew up in an island & we don't have the modern facilities to wash our clothes. This falls above we have one similar to it & this is where we wash our dirty clothes, etc., at the same time laid the washed clothes on top of the stones so we took them home already dry. It was fun because there were many of us by the falls!
Hello America!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithTo Rose SamsonOur society is moving more and more towards solitary activities. We miss a lot when we do so many things alone.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Another one for Kelly... Our hotel, The Inn at Bully's, is well stocked with your favorite post-ride beverage as well as numerous other snacks. The best part is that they're free for the taking. (Don't ask how many Hershey's Nuggets we had!)
Heart 1 Comment 4
Kelly IniguezAfter I first discovered V-8, I wondered why I hadn't been drinking it all along. I returned home, and bought a half gallon. It languished in the fridge - I just didn't have the same desire to drink it as I did when touring. It is a little game I play - to see if I can find V-8, and what the price is. Look how lucky you are - a week's supply, at hand!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithTo Kelly IniguezI have always liked V8 juice, but it is often hard to find in convenience stores. It was a nice surprise to find it in the refrigerator at Bully's.
Jeanna
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Kelly IniguezTo Jeanna & Kerry SmithLiquor stores often have V-8, and it’s usually cheaper there. I found that out by accident!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithTo Kelly IniguezI do enjoy a good Bloody Mary :-)!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago

Today's ride: 29 miles (47 km)
Total: 1,446 miles (2,327 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Em HolcombIt was great to meet you and hear about your trip! Good luck--I'm excited to follow along for the rest of it! -climber Em
Reply to this comment
11 months ago