Day 93 - Medina to Jamestown - Two Far 2021 - Sooo... Far - CycleBlaze

July 10, 2021

Day 93 - Medina to Jamestown

Unexpected events

There is no map today - our miles were in motorized vehicles, not on the bike.

We were getting ready to leave the room when I stumbled and fell - right onto the corner of the metal bed frame which protruded a couple of inches from the mattress.  I could feel it slice my leg as I was falling forward.  It was a deep laceration, about 4 inches long.  In a town with a clinic, I could have just ridden over for care, but this far away from a medical facility, I knew it wasn't going to work to ride the bike.

These are two Medina EMT's - Renee and Brogan and two EMT students - Ashley and Shawn. They came to transport me to Jamestown so I could get a 4 inch gash in my leg sutured. There are no medical facilities in Medina.
Heart 2 Comment 3
Keith A. SpanglerType your comment here
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rose SamsonHi Jeanna,

Win & I are sorry what happened to your leg. HOPE and pray you will be fine and your left leg laceration will heal in the next few days. Take it easy and try not to "stress " that leg! Have a Safe ride.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithTo Rose SamsonThank you, Rose and Win. My leg is doing fine now and we're riding again tomorrow. I've enjoyed having three rest days, but I did earn them the hard way!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
I'm ready for my ride to the hospital. I was in no shape to pedal 30 miles, so this became my transportation.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I got quick and skillful care at Jamestown Hospital.  Tracy was an excellent nurse and Dr. Diehl sutured the laceration - 14 sutures!  Everyone was kind and caring and I was all fixed up in short order.  

Thank you, Dr. Diehl and Tracy for the good care.
Heart 2 Comment 2
Paul KriegDog bit on the right leg and now a laceration on the left. Stop that! To quote Johnny Weismueller from the old Tarzan movies: "Bad Ju-ju"!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithTo Paul KriegBad ju-ju for sure, but nothing trip ending. I just hope my arms aren't next!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

We got a cab from the hospital to the pharmacy and back to the Comfort Inn.  I should be good to ride in the morning.  Kerry is visiting the local museum and we have a dinner date with the Metal Hip Club this evening.

Kerry here...

Jeanna was not quite correct as there is a map today.  After Jeanna left in the ambulance, I waited for Daniel,  the son of Renee (the EMS tech).  He showed up just a few minutes after Jeanna had left, but had a short-bed pickup with a tool box.  We both knew immedialtely that that was not going to work!  I told Daniel everything was OK, that I could just ride solo to Jamestown.  Daniel said OK, but that he would look for a trailer he could borrow, and we departed our separate ways.  After I had riden a couple of  miles I saw a pick-up coming up behind me and soon realized it was Daniel, and he had found a trailer.  We got the bike loaded up and secured and then had an uneventful ride, first to the motel where I unloaded the bike and gear, and then to the hospital, where he dropped me off.  By the time I arrived at the hospital, Jeanna was ready to check-out, so we took a cab to the motel and the medical saga was over.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Daniel, with the Seavo all loaded up and ready to go.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Curt & Helene ReedSo nice of Daniel to go through all this trouble. You always meet nice people on your trip.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithTo Curt & Helene ReedWe really do. We'd have a hard time touring without the occasional helping hand from kind hearted strangers.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

After I got Jeanna all settled in the room, I walked over to the Frontier Village and the National Buffalo Museum.  The Frontier Village was just a collection of shops in re-created old stores and was not interesting at all.   The National Buffalo Museum, however, was nice and very informative.

A recreation of a pioneer town filled with modern shops
Heart 1 Comment 0
The only building that was interesting to me was the Loius L'Amour exhibit. I believe I have read all of his books.
Heart 2 Comment 0
This fellow was at the entrance to the National Buffalo Museum, but he was not the biggest bison on the site.
Heart 1 Comment 0

A tour of the museum.  If you're interested, you can zoom in and read the info on the exhibits, otherwise just skip over them.

A bison skeleton
Heart 1 Comment 0
Info on prehistoric bison.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Info on new world bison.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Info on modern bison.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Other facts about the life of a buffalo.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Hunting buffalo
Heart 1 Comment 0
One last info panel
Heart 1 Comment 0
White Cloud - an albino buffalo that lived from 1996 - 2016.
Heart 1 Comment 0

So now you've seen the National Buffalo Museum and saved $6 to boot :-)

After I left the museum, I walked over to see the World's Largest Buffalo.

Image not found :(
World's Largest Buffalo from afar.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Image not found :(
Getting a little closer...
Heart 2 Comment 0
And up close and personal.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Finally, I strolled over to get a view of the real thing (and it wasn't a Coke).

Taking it easy on a sunny afternoon
Heart 1 Comment 0

Now back to Jeanna...

We were so pleased to finally meet up with another cycling team we've been following on CycleBlaze.  The Metal Hip Club is Terry and Janet O"Brien and their son Ross.  We had a very good time getting to know each other and sharing stories over a good Mexican dinner.  

Terry, Ross, Janet and Kerry
Heart 4 Comment 0

I think we're going to stay here in Jamestown tomorrow and give my leg a little more time to start to heal.  Right now, it doesn't hurt much.  Rest and elevation really do work.  Kerry is great about catering to me when I have any type of illness of injury, so I'll get plenty of TLC.

Today's ride: 2 miles (3 km)
Total: 3,480 miles (5,601 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 15
Kathleen JonesMend fast, Jeanna!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Francie GassOh my goodness! I was going to comment on your meeting up with Terry, Ross and Janet, but then I see a picture of you on a gurney! So glad you got good care for your laceration.
I love that you met up with the metal hipsters! I am so impressed with all 5 of you!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith A. SpanglerKerry, you have to get Jeanna a tent to sleep in ~ no metal parts! Respectively speaking of course! Jeanna, I hope you feel better very quick!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithTo Kathleen JonesThank you, Kathleen.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithTo Keith A. Spangler
Thanks, Keith. I think it would take a lot more than this to make us want to carry camping gear all summer!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithTo Francie GassThe getting care was a lot bigger deal than it would have been if the accident hadn't happened in a town with no medical facilities - and if we had transportation other than a bicycle. It's all part of unsupported bike touring, though, and everything ended up fine.
I love your reference to the "metal hipsters". I'll have to share that with them. They are almost your neighbors - from Birch Bay, WA.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Alain AbbateBetween dog bites and bed frame bashing, not to mention all the headwinds and climbing, your legs are being pushed to the limit on this trip. It sounds like despite all the adversity you are still in good spirits and enjoying the trip. I hope you have lots of tailwinds from here on - you've more than earned them.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithTo Alain AbbateI really hope that all the medical type 2 fun for this trip is over! It wasn't a bad experience yesterday. As soon as we decided to call 911, all I had to do was relax and let other people take care of me. Now I get a day off to relax some more, so all is well and I can enjoy the anticipation of getting out of the high plains and back to easier cycling.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Seth WeitzmanOh no. So sorry to read about your medical travails, and glad you’re on the mend. Amazing care you received from the EMT’s and the hospital. And they transport bikes too! Be well.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithTo Seth WeitzmanThank you, Seth. I hope your trip is going well. I miss having a blog to follow you along. Let us know how your trip is going from time to time.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Janet OBrienJeanna - Hope you are feeling better today! It was great meeting you and Kerry last night! May the roads be “mostly flat” and the winds be with you as you continue your journey!!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Mike ObermeyerI hope the rest of your trip goes a lot better. I will keep both of you in my prayers.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithTo Mike ObermeyerThank you, Mike.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Michael and Diane RuddockIt was so stressful to read about your untimely fall, but it sounds as if you were well taken care of, and are on the mend quickly. You are both amazing!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithIt was unfortunate, but not terrible. I'm healing well and I got three days off the bike as a reward for my discomfort. Tomorrow will tell the story, but I think I'm going to be fine to ride.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago