Day 19 Shallotte, NC - Two Far 2019 - Coasting Along to the Maritimes - CycleBlaze

May 13, 2019

Day 19 Shallotte, NC

Heart 0 Comment 0

We had a good ride today.  The weather was good and we had a tailwind most of the way.  It was nice to stay dry!

When I was growing up in Charlotte, Myrtle Beach was "the beach".  Everyone seemed to visit the Myrtle Beach area (the Grand Strand) for their family vacation.  Every time I hear "Summer Nights'" from Grease, I think about Myrtle Beach, even though I never met anyone remotely like John Travolta :)  My family vacationed in Windy Hill, which doesn't exist anymore.  Riding through, I saw just a few familiar sights, but almost all of what I remember is gone.

This is what Myrtle Beach motels looked like in the 50's and 60's.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is what hotels on Ocean Blvd. look like today. Notice the light traffic and good bike lane.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Keith A. SpanglerAmazing how it changes so quickly. I experienced that same thing along the Gulf.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
The Gay Dolphin Gift Cove has been on the strip forever.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The original Pavilion and huge roller coaster are gone, but this amusement park is nearby.
Heart 0 Comment 0
There are still a few open spots where you can see 
Heart 1 Comment 0

Most of our route today was good.  We had bike lanes much of the way.  Of course, not everyone reserves them for bikes.  About 200 feet from this sign, a big SUV with a bigger boat trailer blocked the whole bike lane.  I hope the local police do some parking enforcement!

Heart 0 Comment 0

In Little River, SC, we had to stop for this drawbridge.  It is a swing bridge and rotates 90 degrees to lets boats pass.

Heart 1 Comment 0

Just past Little River, we entered our fourth state, North Carolina.  It still feels like coming home to me.

Kerry wanted me to be sure that I got a photograph of the pavement change when I took a picture of the North Carolina sign.

Another reason it was nice to be back in North Carolina
Heart 2 Comment 2
Steve NicholsNorth Carolina was by far the most bike friendly state in our ride up the east coast in 2011 - great road surfaces, shoulders and signage. Love to ride in NC!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Keith A. SpanglerCool image......
Reply to this comment
4 years ago

Today's ride: 48 miles (77 km)
Total: 660 miles (1,062 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0