A tale of two very different rides. - Tucson Area Thanksgiving Tour 2020 - CycleBlaze

November 21, 2020

A tale of two very different rides.

Heart 0 Comment 0

We set our alarm for 7 AM. I started riding at 10 AM. What took so long? We did walk over to Denny's for breakfast. I had a skillet, Jacinto ordered an omelette. The free motel breakfast would have been equally good, had there been a breakfast offered . . . what I'm really saying is that breakfast wasn't great. But we were fueled for the day. Jacinto had routed a 52 mile route and was dismayed that it had less than 1,000 feet of climbing. I told him if he wanted any climbing, he would have to go look for it. Mt Lemmon or Kitt Peak would be the two choices. He decided on Kitt Peak - it has a satisfying 3,600 feet of climbing in 12 miles. Jacinto didn't even complain about loading his bicycle back in the van to go ride.

We both set off at 10 AM. I will update his ride when he gets back.

I hadn't routed anything in advance for today and was then sitting on the edge of the chair, making a route. I ended up with an out and back that was mostly on the bike path. If I had done this last night, I would have had time to check out roadways for suitability. But, I didn't.

I rode 3 miles down Valencia Blvd, and then took a right to access the bike path. I remembered this from riding with Tom this summer. We live in a rural community and there aren't any bike paths. Maybe that's why I'm enchanted when I have the opportunity to ride a smooth black top road that's just for cyclists! I hadn't even accessed the path when I saw to trike flags go by. I caught up and passed them (look at me go!). The hand cyclist asked me if I was riding the entire loop . . . no, not today!

In total I saw two Elliptigo's (not together). One high racer recumbent. Four trikes. One hand trike and a plethora of upright bikes. Julian Wash Bikeway was pleasantly empty for a Saturday morning. I had a short stretch on Rita Road, which connected me to the Harrison Greenway. It was indeed green and had far more users than Julian Wash. It also had some elevation change, where two roadies passed me, one commenting to the other, "This is a good climb." Then they pulled over to some picnic tables. About 15 minutes later they passed me again.

As much as I'd love to winter in Tucson, I hope I never get to the point where I think that 'climb' was worthy of a break. I haven't ridden on many bike paths, but the ones I have ridden on tend to be flat. I like a flat, fast ride. But I get lazy easily. I can see myself toodling around on the path and never doing any climbing.

Jacinto had estimated it would take him four hours to climb Kitt Peak. I wondered if he would be back in time for our early dinner meeting with Steve, Tom, and Hank? Maybe I should see if one of the guys would give me a ride and Jacinto could go straight there? I called him - Jacinto said he wasn't having any trouble and would be back in time. I wonder what the story is there?

I'll update when I find out.

I had no trouble retracing my steps. I had planned a 30 mile route for the day - I did not complete either of the sections of bike path that I rode. More exploring could be done. We are headed off on tour tomorrow. The bike path will have to wait for our December return.

I'm amazed how quickly the Quality Inn went from mostly okay to definitely not okay. I speculate if motel owners are barely hanging on with COVID and don't have money for maintenance. Which doesn't mean that they couldn't pick up the trash in the drive up entry or vacuum the hallways! There was a ball of dryer lint on top of the dryer when we checked in last night and it's still there . . .

I asked at check in this morning about leaving our car while we were gone. I had asked John when we made our reservation. John is correct that we can leave our car, but this clerk said there's a $3.00 a day charge. Hurumph. We've never been charged here before. There is a covered parking lot two blocks down that charges $3.99 a day. I think we might leave the van there.

I have showered and eaten some of the leftovers as a tide me over until dinner. I've spoken with Hank a couple of times on the phone. It will be good to meet him in person.

I have far too much stuff for a six day tour. Truthfully, I need about the same stuff for that length of tour or all summer. I somehow ended up with only one short sleeve shirt and I've ripped a little hole into a big running type hole from the hem going up. I'm sad about that as it's an Ibex wool shirt . . .

We have a king size bed and it is totally covered in bicycle gear. Somehow all of that will have to go back on the bikes. I'm trying to decide on some items I can leave in the van. How about that heavy pair of tights? It doesn't look like I will need them this tour. But if I do, I will be happy to have them . . . deciding what to take will be evening entertainment.

I think a Walmart run might be in our future. We have a multi receptacle charger and zero cables to go with it. I have my battery pack, which can charge one light at a time. We have four lights, plus Jacnto's head phones.

Jacinto's story - I didn't see this one coming. When I called Jacinto and he said he had a change of plans, I thought he had a flat tire or some sort of bicycle trouble. No. That wasn't it. Jacinto was driving to Kitt Peak when he saw the sign for a Border Patrol check point. That's no problem. Or is it? Jacinto had forgotten his ID back at the room. He pulled over to the side of the road and debated his chances. Jacinto decided that the potential delay and strife of not having his ID with him wasn't worth it. He didn't have time to drive back to the motel and get his ID. Plan B was a ride through Saguaro Park - which I'm not happy about because I would have gone on that ride! Jacinto said it was pretty, but no climbing. It looks like he will have to be happy with the climb up Mission Road tomorrow.

Did I mention that we made plane reservations to return home? That gives us an extra day in town, Saturday. Jacinto is planning to ride Kitt Peak next Saturday.

We are leaving now for dinner.

I'm starting my ride from the motel. Jacinto is driving to the turn in the road to Kitt Peak. We are ready to go at the same time! This was only accomplished because I'm on winter Arizona time - a 10 AM start doesn't happen for me during the summer.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The first cyclists I saw on the bike path were a hand cyclist and a trike, together.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I look forward to seeing this familiar artwork each visit to Tucson.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is a good illustration of the consequences!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bill? These were in fruit all along the bike path.Bill says Arizona barrel cacti/fishhook barrel.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The razor wire top didn't show up on the chain link fence. To my eye, there was nothing on the other side to warrant such precautions. Can anyone tell me what is along Harrison Greenway that needs protected?Edit - Steve says this is a military training ground and he frequently bicycles past when they are doing 50 caliber (very loud) Rifle training.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bill?More hanging fruit.Bill says chain fruit/jumping cholla.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Harrison Greenway had more greenery and more cyclists than Julian Wash.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is a good view today.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another piece of artwork along Julian Wash.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I had to turn back around to get these three purple cacti in the same photo.Bill says Santa Rita prickly pear cacti.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Temperature at the finish of my ride. It's a fine life!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto's photo.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto's photo.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Dinner was far too short with our bicycle buddies, Tom and Steve. This was our first meeting with Hank, in the cowboy hat.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 33 miles (53 km)
Total: 33 miles (53 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0