Logistics and map. - Tucson Area Thanksgiving Tour 2020 - CycleBlaze

Logistics and map.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I'm not sure how I talked Jacinto into driving 12 hours to Tucson twice in two months, for both Thanksgiving and Christmas. I think I wore him down with my enthusiasm for the area. Saguaro cactus and riding in shorts (warm weather) are both high on my list.

We agreed on a tour for Thanksgiving, when the weather is more likely to be warm. At Christmas, we have a two week reservation at an extended stay motel right on the loop. My deepest wish is to winter in Tucson yearly. We want to check the town out and see which area we would like to settle in.

We keep going to the airport area because the location makes for easy exit/entry by bicycle. It's right on the bike path. We have been warned by a number of people that it isn't a good part of town. However, we are there again for this trip. Heading south, it does make sense to start on the southern edge of town.

We didn't try to find companions for this tour. Partly because of it being a holiday, and mostly because of COVID. However, Hank had been asking on the recumbent list if anyone was touring in the Tucson area this winter. How could I not answer? this is his 4th winter in Tucson. We will get to know Hank better over the tour.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0