CB Meetup on Julian Wash - 14 Wheels to Tucson - CycleBlaze

February 4, 2023

CB Meetup on Julian Wash

Saturday we are treated to our second Cycle Blazer meetup this year. Kelly Iniguez has invited us out on a late morning ride with the Tucson Recumbent Cyclists group. Awesome! I was hoping to connect with her while she’s here. We meet Kelly and six other members of this friendly group at the Roy Schoonover trailhead on the Tucson Loop. You can find them on Facebook.  All snowbirds today, nice folks.

Kelly's in the light blue jersey over on the left next to me. Great riding with you!
Heart 5 Comment 0

From the trailhead we ride the Loop northwest along Julian Wash to Rudy’s BBQ which is right on the path, a big plus. Among us there are several LWB (long-wheel base) bikes and trikes, plus four SWB (short-wheel base) bikes counting Barry and me. I guess we set a record? The acronyms are new to me, good to know. I took a chance on a smoked potato with smoked brisket on top at Rudy’s - recommend. 

Heart 6 Comment 0

After lunch we do a little loop around Kino Sports Complex and then start back for the trailhead. Barry and I have ambitions for extra miles so we say farewell to the group and ride further southeast past the trailhead to I-10 and back. It’s a pretty, more remote stretch of the Loop, very enjoyable. Eventually we want to ride around the whole Loop, about a 55 mile trip. Today is a good start at 33.

Joining Hands – a Hohokam emblem of communal life on the path along Julian Wash just east of the Roy Schoonover trailhead. Wonderful.
Heart 5 Comment 4
Kelly IniguezThis is my favorite photo stop on the entire loop! It took extreme self control to NOT photo it each time I passed by.

BTW, today I rode a full loop and stopped at Cane's Chicken next door to Rudy's BBQ for lunch before completing the last 25 miles.

Another ride that is a must do before you leave is East Saguaro Park. I like to add in a side trip to Colossal Caves also. Rachael says they have gone up to the actual caves and made a loop. I didn't know that was possible. I thought it was one way.

I've done two loops of Saguaro Park. I could probably do three, and still enjoy it. Some tandem riding friends who are training for Paris-Brest-Paris have done 100 miles, trying to get some climbing in! Each loop is 8 miles. I think they rode 12 loops?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsAKA The "Kelly Iniguez Arch", at least within the CycleBlaze journalsphere. :)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Kelly Iniguez"Some tandem riding friends who are training for Paris-Brest-Paris have done 100 miles, trying to get some climbing in! Each loop is 8 miles. I think they rode 12 loops?"

Reminds me of the annual New Year's Day ride in the DC area. There's a 3 mile loop around Hains Point. It's tradition for at least a few hardy souls to get out for 33 laps, making it The Most Boring Century in the East. The good thing is you're never more than a mile and a half from the rest / cocoa stop, or your car.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Janice BranhamTo Kelly IniguezGood on you for your complete circuit of the Loop. I hope to get to that point this month. I do love that East Saguaro Loop. Hadn't thought of doing multiple laps on it but that's a good idea!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Amber waves?
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

 

Today's ride: 33 miles (53 km)
Total: 129 miles (208 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Kelly IniguezIt was great to meet you. I'm glad you could make it on such short notice.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael AndersonGlad to see you all got together!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago