W Week arrives - A Short Southwestern Sojourn - CycleBlaze

September 23, 2016

W Week arrives

Readying for departure

W Week: the week in which an operation commences.  You're seeing it here first.

This is apparently a neologism, as I can't find any references to it.  I think I should create a new page on Wikipedia for it, and cite this journal as its first usage.  I'm uncertain of how just it should be defined though.  Is it a week before D Day, or the first day of the week (presumably Sunday) in which departure is scheduled?  Either way, we've arrived: we depart Friday morning.  Time to start packing.

Preparations so far have been limited to trying to stay reasonably fit so that we won't have to cycle our way into shape on the tour itself.  Rachael has been doing better than me (as usual - she's much more disciplined than I am), but not as well as she usually does.  She's been working through a series of aches, pains and minor injuries (tight hamstrings, sore feet, sore shoulder) that have slowed her down this fall and led her to seek help from a chiropractor and an acupuncturist.  After much poking and prodding she seems improved and ready to go once more unto the breach.

She's done much better than I have though.  I came down with a cold a month ago that still hasn't fully cleared.  Given the fairly wet weather we've seen in Portland this fall, I've been pretty cautious about getting out on a bike for fear of a relapse.  Most of my outings over the last few weeks have been short, tame excursions to local coffee houses.

Just in time though I'm feeling mostly back to normal again and have had enough energy to go out with Rachael on a few 40 milers.  I'm out of shape and a bit short winded still, but I should be fine.  And, it will be good for Rachael.  She's always happier at the start of a tour if I'm a bit off and she feels stronger than me.

When it's dry enough, it is really fantastic right now in Portland.  The fall colors are about at their peak, and there's fresh snow on the volcanoes.  Here are few shots from recent rides:

The view from Council Crest: Mount Saint Helens, sporting a fresh blanket of snow. Looking over her shoulder is the much larger Mount Rainier.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Along the Marine Drive cycle path. Mount Hood has seen a lot of fresh snow recently.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The recently renovated Thurman Street Bridge over Balch Creek
Heart 0 Comment 0
The new Sellwood Bridge, the old Cannondale T1000.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0