Departure Eve - A Short Southwestern Sojourn - CycleBlaze

October 27, 2016

Departure Eve

Now what are we forgetting this time?

Our flight departs PDX at 7 AM tomorrow,  so we scheduled a 4:30 taxi pickup (MAX doesn't run that early in the morning, and we couldn't bring ourselves to ask my sister Elizabeth to drive us out to the airport at that hour).  We spent most of the evening finalizing packing, and retired early.

Here's hoping that when we arrive and unpack in Tucson we'll find everything on our packing list for a change.  We run this drill fairly often and are quite careful, but lately it seems like we always leave behind something important.  This spring on our trip to Sicily we (I) failed to pack my meds somehow, which could have been a trip-ender if Italian pharmacies hadn't been so willing to dispense prescription medications without a prescription.

For some number of years now I've wondered how long I'll have the strength and stamina for trips like these.  Forgetting things as I do, I'm also starting to wonder how long I'll have the wits for this as well.  I think there's a macabre race going on between the horses of decrepitude and dementia to see which one brings me down first.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0