Day 32 - ending at St. Francis, KS - Tri-points on the Tri-speed - CycleBlaze

June 14, 2013

Day 32 - ending at St. Francis, KS

Posted via email Sat Jun 15 10:51:02 2013 PDT

I got up off the picnic table at 4:44am (MDT). Finished report and left at 6:25am. It was sunny and calm, with a slight southeast breeze.

Got back on SH-17 going north until I turned east on SH-57, to get me back to KS-27. I had originally routed to stay on SH-17, but why did I want to take the gravel road when the highway (with a shoulder) would get me to the same spot? Arrived at the highway at 7:16am, and Goodland city limits at 7:49am.

Now, to find a place to eat. Passed by the McDonald's in hope that I could find a sit-down place in town. Went east into town, then north on Center Street, thinking that was the main road. Then realized that Main Street a block over is the 'main' road. Passed a few places to eat, but they weren't open. Before long, I was at the north end of town. The forecast called for a change in wind direction from south to north in the afternoon, so maybe I should just keep going. Stopped and ate a granola bar, and considered my water situation. I had a half-a-gallon left. With this tailwind, and only 35 miles to go, that should be enough. So, at 8:45am, I continued north.

At 10:10am, my easy day was over. The wind abruptly changed to from-the-north. I had visual confirmation of this, noticing north-blown dust in the field next to me meeting the south wind and forming a dust swirl.

At 10:24am, I crossed the Cheyenne County Line, and was back in Central Time (11:24am). I stopped to drink water from time-to-time, and the supply was getting low. Then I remembered I had some reserve water in the two bottles attached under the front basket. I'd filled these with water at home on May 14. Still tasted OK.

At 2:00pm (CDT), I arrived at US-36, where I needed to turn west to get the St. Francis. Five miles to go. It was sort of looking like rain to the west, and the weather radar on the BlackBerry indicated that. I arrived at St. Francis still dry at 2:40pm. I needed to decide on city-provided free camping, or a motel. Saw a 'Dairy King' ahead and decided to eat first. Found a high table in the crowded dining area and ordered a root beer float, double cheeseburger with bacon, and cottage cheese. Later got another root beer float. The rear of the business is a bowling alley, so I listened to strikes being made as I ate. I'd seen a sign about a celebration this weekend in town, so asked where that would be, as I paid my check. I didn't want to be setting up my tent in the middle of where there'd be late-night partying. I also asked if the town has a laundromat. They do, two blocks up the access road.

I went next to check out the camping park St. Francis provides for travelers. It's very nice, and I found a great spot to set up the tent, if it's not going to storm.

Decided to check out the laundromat, to see if they have laundry soap available. I'd originally scheduled to stay in St. Francis two days, and if I could get my clothes washed, that'd be good. The laundromat had a detergent dispenser, but it didn't work. Went next to the nearby Cenex to see if they sold detergent - nope. I did buy some on-the-road snacks, and a chocolate milk, while I was there. Rode back to the camping area. Still undecided about camping or motel. It was raining just east of here. Maybe I could set up under that pavilion over there. Then I'd also have electricity. So, finally, at 4:55pm, I made the decision, and put up the tent.

Checked the bike next. No broken spokes. Checked tire pressures: 31.5psi front, 49psi back. Brought them both up to 58psi. Next, a shower. Then work on report while eating animal cookies. Noticed from where I was sitting that the Dairy King was still open. One more root beer float wouldn't hurt, so I walked over. When I got there, I decided to get a hot dog also. The window attendant suggested potato salad - OK. She packed everything so I could carry it back to the campsite. So that was supper a little after 8:00pm. Got tired after that, so headed to bed about 9:00pm, having decided I will stay here another day.

Jeff

------------

Spent: $13.78 plus $2 (lunch) + $5.57 (snacks, chocolate milk) + $6.38 (supper) = $27.73.

Day 32 - Goodland, KS to St. Francis, KS
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ grain storage - Goodland, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Kansas National Guard Armory and National Weather Service Forecast Office - Goodland, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ south wind ready to push me north - Goodland, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ city limit - St. Francis, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ a perfect place to camp . . . if it didn't look like rain - St. Francis, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 48 miles (77 km)
Total: 1,341 miles (2,158 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0