Day 33 - still at St. Francis, KS - Tri-points on the Tri-speed - CycleBlaze

June 15, 2013

Day 33 - still at St. Francis, KS

Posted via email Sun Jun 16 04:23:01 2013 PDT

This morning I was able to sleep past the birds singing, but not past the fire station's 7:00am whistle. (It blows at noon and 6:00pm also). Rained a little overnight, but the tent stayed dry under the shelter. It was a sunny, cool morning, with a slight southeast breeze. But what do I care today about the wind? It's a day off!

Worked on yesterday's report, wishing I had a cup of coffee. Headed off walking toward downtown at 9:52am. Downtown was full of people this Saturday morning, thanks to the town's celebration. Located Cuppa Joe Espresso at 10:10am. They were busier than normal, and it took a while to get all my breakfast: a "Muffle-wich" with bacon, apple turnover, and a "Kansas Windstorm" (coffee-type drink). Got a pretty good deal on it all. First, since they were running low on change, the manager gave me a dollar off. Then, because delivery of the coffee was [considered by the manager to be] too slow, I was given three more dollars. I left that for the tip. Anyway, while waiting I enjoyed talking with a woman about my plans to see the northwest tri-point corner of Kansas. She said there will be hills before I get to it.

The other goal of my walk downtown was to get laundry soap. Walked up the street to Bella's Market. The shelves were surprisingly empty. Found a bottle of detergent for $8.50. Ouch! For one use that was too much. Asked as I left about the low inventory I saw in the store and if they were going out of business. The cashier's response (cleaned up) was "store management politics". I continued up the street to Uptown Meat Market and Deli. Their detergent was $11.50. One worker there said the True Value Store sold detergent, but another said they were probably closed today due to the wedding taking place today at the bandshell. They called the store for me and got no answer. Back to Bella's Market. I looked around better this time and found some Purex 3-in-1 Laundry Sheets for $8.05. This will work because I can pack what I don't use today for next time.

I headed back to the campground at 11:25am, stopping as I went by Dairy King for a to-go cherry slush. Worked on yesterday's report. Sent that off and walked over to the laundromat at 1:00pm. Started the washer and went over to the Cenex for a newspaper. As I was just about done folding clean clothes, a truck driver came in. I gave him change for a dollar and we started talking. He thought what I was doing would be hard, but at least I'm outside with a breeze when it's hot, not in the back of a semi-trailer unloading four-hundred boxes by hand with no air movement!

Got back to the campground at 2:40pm. Worked on today's report some, then walked next door to the Cheyenne County Museum. There had been an event there earlier today related to the town's celebration, but they were closed now. Took a picture of their country church and read information about the area. From 3:50pm to 4:20pm I took a nap on a picnic table. Next, I sorted through my maps, putting away Kansas and getting ready for Colorado.

At 6:25pm I walked over to Dairy King for supper: pork tender sandwich, potato salad, Orange Crush, and later a mint sundae to-go.

I noticed that a business next to the campground didn't close its door last night. I thought that was unusual. Turns out it's the city's recycle center.

As a storm approached, I made one last trip to Dairy King for a root beer at 8:45pm. Enjoyed watching the clouds and lightning. Not too much wind with this storm, and once again, only a little rain.

Reunions for St. Francis High School are going on this weekend. One class group apparently broke away from the high school, and is meeting here next to one of the member's RV. From the conversations I'm overhearing, they sure are having fun.

The sky's still rumbling at 10:45pm - good sleeping weather (when your tent is under a pavilion).

Jeff

------------

Spent: $9.85 plus $3 (breakfast) + $12.78 (laundry soap, Spray 'n Wash Stick) + $1.75 (cherry slush) + $2.75 (laundromat) + $4.13 (Starbucks Doubleshot, newspaper) + $14 plus $2 (supper) + $1.01 (root beer) = $51.27.

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ outside the business located between laundromat and Cenex/Eagle gas station/convenience store - St. Francis, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ time to mess around with the tripod - St. Francis, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ another storm on its way +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ St. Francis High School alumni break-away party at Roadside Park +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looking southeast from the east edge of Roadside Park +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0