Day 18 - ending at Independence, KS - Tri-points on the Tri-speed - CycleBlaze

May 31, 2013

Day 18 - ending at Independence, KS

Posted via email Fri May 31 18:46:01 2013 PDT

Up at 4:43am. Got bike loaded and the cargo covered with plastic. Ate the other half of the Subway sandwich with the chocolate milk at 6:15am. Left at 6:35am, going west on US-160.

At 7:30am I arrived at the turn-off for Big Brutus, seven miles away. I was a little sad thinking about all I'll be missing with my changed routing, but maybe I'll see those places on another trip originating from Bill and Laurie's in Springfield.

Arrived in Oswego at 8:55am and stopped at the Conoco for a pack of mini chocolate-covered donuts and a cup of coffee. Repeated the routine when I got to Altamont at 10:50am, except this time it was at the Casey's for wafer cookies and a chocolate milk, which I took to the city park to eat/drink.

The wind direction seemed to be changing a little from the south to from the southwest as the morning went by. Also got a little hilly later on. It was sweet coasting the two times US-160 jogged north.

It started to sprinkle on me seven miles east of Independence. Once I got over a hill, I could see serious rain ahead, so put my rain gear on - except the rubber boots. They were so hard to get on and off last time I used them (probably because I have new boots which are bigger on the outside). Not putting them on proved to be a mistake. The rain was heavy all the way to Independence, and now my boots are wet!

I was going to get a motel room on the west side of Independence, but the Townsman Motel appeared ahead at 2:45pm, so I turned in. Got room #30, and proceeded to dry things out. Checked the rear wheel - no broken spokes today!

Tornado warning sirens went off about 4:00pm, but the worst of the storm was northeast of town. Lots of emergency vehicles zoomed by heading east.

Took shower, put on my wet boots, and walked next door at 5:25pm to the Half Pint Restaurant. Had a root beer and the buffet. I'm full . . . and sleepy.

A second batch of rain is moving through now. Hope it's all done by tomorrow morning.

Jeff

------------

Spent: $2 (donuts, coffee) + $2.91 (chocolate milk, wafer cookies) + $40 plus $3 (motel) + $10.69 plus $2 (supper) = $60.60.

Day 18 - Columbus, KS to Independence, KS
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

+ leftovers for breakfast +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ ready to go - Columbus, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ motive power of the South Kansas and Oklahoma Railroad - near Sherwin, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ South Kansas and Oklahoma Railroad bridge over Neosho River - Cherokee County, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ " . . . you probably don't need it!" +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Altamont City Park - Altamont, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looking north along Huston Street - Altamont, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Cherryvale "Only 5 Miles North" - Montgomery County, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ I know there's one in Illinois. Here's one in Kansas! (at US-160 and 5500 Road) - Montgomery County, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Dewlen-Spohnhauer Bridge over Verdigris River - Montgomery County, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 51 miles (82 km)
Total: 698 miles (1,123 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0