Day 19 - ending at Sedan, KS - Tri-points on the Tri-speed - CycleBlaze

June 1, 2013

Day 19 - ending at Sedan, KS

Posted via email Sat Jun 1 20:28:02 2013 PDT

It was slow-going after I turned off the alarm at 5:00am. Everything was scattered about drying out and I wasn't looking forward to putting it all back together. Worked on it some, then walked over at 6:50am to the Half Pint for their breakfast buffet and coffee. Was finally packed and ready to go at 8:02am.

The weather was better - still cloudy - more so to the southeast. Rode through Independence on US-160, then turned south on US-75.

Indicated ahead on my Kansas Highway Map (but not the bicycling map) was a square labeled "Little House on the Prairie". I turned off US-75 to see that, arriving at 10:02am. The cabin is a replica, and there are other buildings on the site (farm house, post office, schoolhouse), but the location is correct. Before I left, I bought a juice and some cinnamon sticks and butterscotch sticks. Drank the juice at a picnic table behind the farm house, and saved the candy for later. Left at 10:50am. Shortly thereafter, I saved a turtle from the car that was coming from behind me. The sun was out now, and it seemed the west (maybe slightly northwest) breeze was picking up.

During a roadside break at 11:30am, I noticed another broken spoke! Glad I'd planned a short day (hoping to make it to Sedan). I turned right off of US-75 onto US-166 shortly after noon. Now the wind was a factor - big time! Very slow progress. Made it to Niotaze at 1:00pm. Started getting into some slight hills also. Was finally at the turn-off to the north for KS-99 to Sedan. That three miles went much quicker, in spite of the hills.

Arrived in Sedan at 3:22pm. I was looking for the campground Kris had provided: Triple Creek RV Park. Rode around some, then called them. I'd ridden by the place - it was a block south of where I was. Arrived at 3:40pm. This place has five sites for RV's (that I see). I set up at #5 next to the highway (it was the best for a tent). After getting the bike unloaded and the tent up, I got busy changing out the broken spoke - except it was two. Checked the tires - they're doing OK, and still have all the pressure I put in them at Springfield.

At 5:45pm, I rode the empty bike down the highway to "99 Gas-N-Go" for supper items.

The shower house at this campground (which is very clean) has laundry machines (and soap), so I took advantage of that after my shower.

It's a beautiful evening here. Only a few pickup trucks have pulled through the car wash behind me and drowned out the sound of the crickets.

Jeff

------------

Spent: $8.83 plus $2 (breakfast) + $3 (museum donation) + $1.49 (juice, stick candy) + $20 (campsite) + $8.62 (supper, snacks) = $43.94.

Day 19 - Independence, KS to Sedan, KS
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

+ Half Pint's Family Restaurant - Independence, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Main Street (US-160) - Independence, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Montgomery County Courthouse - Independence, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ not what I expected to see on a Kansas highway! +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ Little House on the Prairie - Montgomery County, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ May 30: I stayed in Columbus that day +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ ca 1925 - 1977 Wayside, Kansas, Post Office (moved here in 1978) +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ inside Wayside Post Office +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ inside Sunnyside Schoolhouse (moved here in 1976) +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ replica cabin +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ the hand-dug well behind the gift shop/prairie store +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Stay off the road! +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ United States Post Office - Niotaze, KS 67355 +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Flint Hills flint? +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ a laundry opportunity I didn't pass up +
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 38 miles (61 km)
Total: 736 miles (1,184 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0