Day 10 - ending at Windsor, MO - Tri-points on the Tri-speed - CycleBlaze

May 23, 2013

Day 10 - ending at Windsor, MO

rode on Katy Trail

Posted via email Fri May 24 13:48:01 2013 PDT

Up at 5:05am. Packed and on my way at 9:28am. My thinking today was to get to Sedalia (using the Katy Trail), then turn south on US-65, taking advantage of the north wind to push me south. Perhaps if I made it to Warsaw, I could make up for the day off I took, and get back on schedule.

I missed a trail turn in Boonville, but eventually made it to the depot. I was taking a picture when a touring bicyclist came up from behind. When he got closer, he said, "The bike's not right, but the rest of the set-up fits." This cyclist, Nick, had seen pictures of my bike on the CGOAB website just the day before, when he was looking for information on Al Neyhaut of Clifton City. Nick keeps a photo journal of his travels at http://www.appalachianbikes.tumblr.com/. He looks like a seasoned traveler to me. He let me take several pictures of his bike set-up. We traded a few stories, then I headed out at 10:25am, leaving Nick to figure out where he was going today.

Arrived in Pilot Grove at 12:15pm. Went to Casey's and then to Lions Park, repeating what I did four years ago. This time I saved the Pop Tarts for later.

Left Pilot Grove at 12:56pm. Passed through Pleasant Green at 1:50pm, and Clifton City at 3:00pm. At 3:50pm, I took a break to eat the Pop Tarts.

At 4:50pm, I could hear a guitar ahead, near where a dog was walking around. The guitar and dog belonged to Chris, who'd hung up a hammock alongside the trail for a break. He's headed for the Pedaler's Jamboree this weekend. As we were talking, the sun came out. It'd been a cloudy, cool day until then.

Made it to Sedalia at 5:10pm. Got off the Katy before the trail intersected with US-65, remembering from when I was here last time, that the trail passes over the highway, and there is no access there. US-65 was very busy, with a narrow curb and tire-eating grates. It wasn't too long before I figured this wasn't going to work for me, and I turned right on the first road I came to going west that would get me back to the Katy.

At 6:22pm, I was back safe on the trail. Now my only option left is to take MO-13 from Clinton to Springfield - back to being a day behind. At least I knew the shoulder was good on MO-13. I decided there was just enough daylight left to get to Windsor, so that's where I headed.

I was at the highest point along the trail at 7:55pm. Arrived in Windsor at 8:40pm, and Farrington Park at 9:00pm. Checked in and was at the campground area (I think this is the campground area) at 9:25pm.

I guess I should confess that today I got passed by a girl on a fully-loaded bike - twice!

Jeff

------------

Spent: $6.34 (breakfast) + $7 (campsite) = $13.34.

Day 10 - Franklin, MO to Windsor, MO
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 0 Comment 0
+ restroom & shower facility at Katy Roundhouse Campsite - Franklin, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ I don't know what type they are, but the flowers are still here! [I'd noticed them on my 2009 trip] - Katy Trail in Howard County, MO +
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ Boonslick Bridge over Missouri River - Boonville, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ coming off the bridge - Boonville, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nick of http://www.appalachianbikes.tumblr.com/ - May 23, 2013
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ the rear load on Nick's bike - Boonville, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ the front load on Nick's bike - Boonville, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0

The photograph Nick took of me is posted here:
http://appalachianbikes.tumblr.com/post/51536866044/jeff-teel-check-out-his-web-logs

+ my safety flag pole comes in handy - Pilot Grove, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ city park - Pilot Grove, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ hiding underwater +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Chris and his dog taking a break along the Katy Trail - May 23, 2013
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ The Katy Depot - Sedalia, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ near sunset - Windsor, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 59 miles (95 km)
Total: 413 miles (665 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0