Day 9 - ending at Franklin, MO - Tri-points on the Tri-speed - CycleBlaze

May 22, 2013

Day 9 - ending at Franklin, MO

Posted via email Thu May 23 06:27:02 2013 PDT

Started getting around at 5:40am this morning. I'd set the tent up on the concrete pad last night. Once it was empty, it wanted to blow away. Checked the tires before loading the bike. The rear one is showing signs of wear already. Ate ginger snaps for breakfast at 9:00am and was ready to leave at 10:00am. My hope today was to get to Franklin, where there's a campground along the Katy Trail. I'm way off my pre-planned route now, having decided it might be best to avoid the heart of the Ozark Mountains.

Started out west into the wind on US-24. Arrived at my turn-off - MO-3 at 11:12am. Made it to Mount Airy at 12:01pm and Roanoke at 1:17pm. Roanoke boasts it's the smallest "Roanoke" in the US. Took a break at a picnic table across the street from the water tower in Armstrong, when I got there at 1:54pm. Was at MO-5 at 2:55pm, and Fayette at 3:34pm. Found their Dairy Queen at 3:50pm, where I ordered lunch.

Back at it heading south, I arrived at the junction of MO-5 and SR-DD at 4:55pm. Both went to New Franklin. Decided on SR-DD - it was the less-traffic road. The hills weren't so bad, and I arrived in New Franklin at 6:43pm. Spent some time reading information boards downtown, then rode to the Katy Trail, setting my tires on the limestone at 7:00pm.

A short ride west got me to The Katy Roundhouse Campground. I'd been here before - four years ago minus a day - on my first tour. Couldn't resist setting up again at campsite #9. Sadly, there's no one here this time at campsite #8 to feed me, so I ate supper by myself.

Was soon in my sleeping bag - too tired to write the report.

Jeff

------------

Spent: $7.43 (lunch) + $6 (campsite) = $13.43.

Day 9 - Moberly, MO to Franklin, MO
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

+ site #24 at Thompson Campground, Rothwell Park - Moberly, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Roanoke Union Church - Roanoke, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ breaktime - Armstrong, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ drying yard of Missouri-Pacific Lumber Company - Fayette, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ hay stacked and sheltered - Howard County, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
+ downtown - New Franklin, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 42 miles (68 km)
Total: 354 miles (570 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0