May 27, 1986 - Leigh-on-Sea. with a Drive to Burnham-on-Crouch - UK: Learning to Tour (Tour 1) - 1986 🇬🇧 - CycleBlaze

May 27, 1986

May 27, 1986 - Leigh-on-Sea. with a Drive to Burnham-on-Crouch

I DIDN'T GET out onto the bike due to gale-force winds.

I was up by 8 am and ate breakfast and talked with Aunt Marjorie as Uncle Frank was out playing golf. He soon returned saying he'd had a great game. I lay on the bed and looked through brochures about Windsor Castle as I'd been there a few days ago, and the Tower of London as I shall be there soon. I started to feel sleepy but popped my head up and got up.

We ate lunch at noon then I helped clean up. I put my bike into the garage then we left. We did some grocery shopping in town then down the road then we headed to Burnham-on-Crouch which is northeast of Hadleigh. It is a small port with quite a large yacht club. We walked along the promenade in the very strong winds. I got a picture looking out to sea and along the wall - hopefully good enough to enlarge and frame. Depends on the quality from the camera.

The winds were quite strong so after watching a boat being lifted out of the water, we left. It is such a 'quaint' town. I hate to use the word, but it really was. I think it's busy in nice summer days but not with Joe Tourists - rather, with yachtsmen. Today it was very sleepy.

On the way back home, we stopped at a few greenhouses for bedding plants. I happened to notice that the marigolds are in bloom as are alyssum, petunias and many others I haven't names for. I imagine they don't have frost into June as does good ol' Cochrane.

We began supper when we arrived which was marvelous. We had a type of pork with vegetables and sauces and for dessert - fresh fruit salad. The pears are absolutely perfect right now. Imported from Chile, they are. In haste we cleaned away the dishes and washed and put them away as Aunt Marjorie continued to prepare a lunch for our excursion to the parliament tomorrow. Earlier, Uncle Frank and I had made the sandwiches - the first time I've made sandwiches in years.

Then came picture time. Germany. Austria. Switzerland. Netherlands. Italy. England. Canada (1982). I have decided that I must see Germany in the very near future. Of all the pictures they seemed the best. I've always heard that it's quite a country to see but now I know for sure. It seems I'd like to cycle Holland, too. Plus, I've been thinking lately that I'd like to see more of Canada as I do live there. It would be great to cycle through a lot of it as the area is relatively flat, summer weather is usually quite good, and there's so much that I'd like to see. I could cycle to Ottawa from North Bay, then travel across Ontario on highway 7 which I believe goes right across the province. I was even thinking that T [?], who really likes cycling, might want to come.

Anyways, at 11 pm we stopped the slides for the night and I came right to bed as we have to be up at 7:30 am tomorrow for the bus leaves at 9:30 am. I'd like to be able to keep awake for something so special.

(The weather was fine but windy. In the car, the sun made it quite hot when the windows were up. Once again, we'd no rain!)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0