May 28, 1986 - Leigh-on-Sea with a Bus Trip to London - UK: Learning to Tour (Tour 1) - 1986 🇬🇧 - CycleBlaze

May 28, 1986

May 28, 1986 - Leigh-on-Sea with a Bus Trip to London

I WOKE UP at 7 am and lay in bed until I had a waking call at 7:30 am. I lay a few minutes more then I got up for breakfast. We ate, cleaned up, then went into Benfleet to wait for the mini-bus. Soon it came and we were off to London.

We drove along the embankment on the way to the parliament. Passing several theatres and buildings from the Vistorian era and of course we went past Cleopatra's Needle - the obelisk imported from Egypt in the last century.

I knew we were there when I saw Big Ben. It was recently unveiled after several years of restoration - talk about beautiful. It glittered the most when the sun shone on the gilt-covered face. The clock tower and most of the buildings have been cleaned so they are a very marvelous sight. I'm sure our Peace Tower in Ottawa is based on Big Ben but it comes nowhere near this masterpiece.

Our guide was late but he was worth the wait. Fred. He must be in his nineties. He paraded up the street to us with his walking stick, the gold chains of his pocket watch across his vest, and several Sovereigns on rings which, I've been told, are very rare these days. Our tour was twice the length of the 'normal' tour - he's the main and best guide. I agree.

We saw where the Queen comes in up the stairs and the state room where she's readied for the throne speech. Along the walls are carvings depicting the life of King Arthur. Next was the meeting room where were hung full-length portraits of the sovereigns since the 1800s. They were absolutely amazing. In this same room was displayed, in a case, the arrest warrant for King Charles I. We saw the seal and signature of Oliver Cromwell. This room had been partially damaged by the bombing of London in WW II.

The House of Lords was unbelievable. The throne (ie 'Throne Speech') was the most incredible sight. Everything was covered with gold as was the ceiling. It was being cleaned and restored at the moment. L1,000,000 of gold. There were fine carpets, beautiful red leather cushions for the Lords and portraits up in the gallery.

The House of Commons was nice but not as the other. Inside was a huge table that had been given by Canada. We saw where Churchill used to sit and where questions were answered.

The final main part of the tour was Westminster Gallery. Dating from the 11th Century, part of it had been damaged by the IRA bomb a few years ago but has since been repaired. Here is the laying in state before the funeral of the Sovereign of England. Actually, so was Churchill which is a great honour as he's 'only' a commoner.

By now it was 2 pm so we sat in the square across from the clock and beside Westminster Abbey (where Charles will some day be crowned King). As we had to leave by 3 pm, we went right over to the Abbey and looked through it. Uncle Frank and I went through the choir and burial crypts of the sovereigns before they were buried in Windsor. Cromwell, too, is buried here, along with Elizabeth I, her sister Mary, plus other sovereigns of the 1500s to 1700s. The Abbey was beautiful but mot as nice as York or Lincoln Cathedrals. But, I think that has something to do with being the first cathedrals of my holiday. One thing better here, is that they've been cleaned on most parts and will soon have the front done, I imagine.

It was getting close to 3 pm so we stepped into St. Margaret's church which is next door to Westminster then we headed back to the bus. I was quite tired so I slept all the way back. We picked up the car and returned home and soon after we got in, it poured rain. My first thunderstorm since I've been here. We had a spot of tea and prepared dinner.

One thing Uncle Frank had told me about were day bus trips to Calais, France, which I was interested in but after inquiring, we found that there are none til later in June when I'll be back to Cochrane. I copied out a homemade wine recipe as I think I'll try my hand at it once again. My first and last attempt was a crude attempt - thus the crude results. I shall try again with the summer fruit I get my hands on.

We ate supper and cleaned up then we continued with the slideshow. We went to Yugoslavia, Austria, Canada, England, and Amsterdam. I've decided that I shall visit Germany, Austria, and Netherlands in three different trips. But, they told me that X can be a bit pushy. Now, I don't know if that's the way they are to the English, to english, or just the way they are in general. I suppose as a Canadian, again, the treatment would be very different. All of those countries are so beautiful that I must go. I think I could see Netherlands by cycle but the others would have to be done by motorized vehicle. [Maybe because of the mountains? Not sure.]

We had a snack then we were off to bed. I couldn't believe it, but it was a few minutes past midnight when I was finally in bed. If we shop or visit a lot tomorrow, we shall be tired. I think we may rest then just shop for a few short hours along Oxford Street then nip right back. Then sight-see on Friday.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0