May 26, 1986 - Leigh-on-Sea - UK: Learning to Tour (Tour 1) - 1986 🇬🇧 - CycleBlaze

May 26, 1986

May 26, 1986 - Leigh-on-Sea

NOT MUCH DONE today so I shan't have much to write.

I was so tired from everything that I slept in 'til 9:30 am. I lay in bed 'til I could move then we ate breakfast. I'd seen Uncle Frank in the garden so I told him I'd help. Aunt Marjori asked if I wanted my clothes washed so I gave her just about everything I had. I cleaned off Bike and touched up the paint on a few spots I'd missed. I had it just sparkling in the mid-twenties sunshine. And the flag was flying in the nice breeze.

I helped in the garden. I transplanted tomatoes and pepper plants, then watered them. I think I'd had too much sun yesterday as I wasn't feeling too well. I had quite a headache. We stopped for lunch at 3 pm which was full of green salads. Yum! I helped clean up then I lay on the bed to peruse a brochure on the sights of London. I was so tired I ended up sleeping 'til 6:30 pm. I got up feeling very awake and much better so I went outside where Uncle Frank was listening to the cricket match England vs India. I helped him a bit more in the garden then we came in to see the end of the game. England won by five wickets.

We ate a beautiful dinner then I helped do the dishes. They showed me some antique china they have and a very old collection of Scott's novels = leather bound, at least 100 years old. We cleaned up outside then came in to look at the Capital card brochure finally deciding it wouldn't be worthwhile. We talked about a schedule for the next few days and about their trip to Canada during the fall. I learned a bit about our family in eastern Ontario then at 11 pm we were tired so we all went to bed.

Uncle Frank wants to be up for a 6:45 am breakfast as he'll be off to play golf. He said he doesn't expect me to be up then. I'll be up for 8 am now that I'm rested.

Tomorrow I'm going for a light cycle along the River Thames to keep fit then we're going for a drive in the afternoon to a boating centre. We'll have an earlier dinner then I'll see some European slides. In the meantime, I sleep - exhausted again.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0