Day 27 Stanford MT to Lewiston MT - 2 Biking Hobos - CycleBlaze

July 14, 2023

Day 27 Stanford MT to Lewiston MT

Looking back on our ride from Stanford MT
Heart 2 Comment 0
Don’t know what these flowers are but certainly not pretty
Heart 2 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltPrairie coneflower

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/78836-Ratibida-columnifera/browse_photos?place_id=16
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
A little bit of history
Heart 0 Comment 0
David who is headed toward California
Heart 3 Comment 4
Mike AylingCycleBlaze meet up??
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Lois AlexanderTo Mike AylingNot sure what you mean? We try to talk to every biker that is touring.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Mike AylingSee journal Training Ride by David Chavez.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
George HallTo Mike AylingJust what I thought! I've been following David's ride too.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Thought it was a neat picture
Heart 1 Comment 0
The brewery we had dinner
Heart 1 Comment 1
Same brewery
Heart 0 Comment 3
Edward GriecoYou keep hitting every brewery I’m gonna have to go find you hobos 😂😂
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Lois AlexanderTo Edward GriecoCome on out. Make sure you bring your bike.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Edward Grieco😂😂😂😂
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Yes, something to wet our whistle
Heart 3 Comment 1
Edward GriecoI wonder if Gary could whistle Dixie ,
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Hub’s dinner
Heart 3 Comment 1
Edward GriecoYour eating like you hit the Lottery
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
My dinner
Heart 2 Comment 1
Our 4 wheels for tomorrow
Heart 1 Comment 0

When we got up this morning it was 54° and seemed breezy when we stepped outside. Time to bundle up again. Neither one is slept well last nite but the day must begin. We knew we were going to have only 3 climbs today but what will the steepness or length of them be. Our ride today was shorter than the last two days which was great but my legs were tired. We did over 127 miles in the last 2 days so I can understand that my legs would not be happy. We went about 3 miles before the first climb. I stayed behind Hubs so he could get me to the top. I actually had him do the same thing on the 2nd climb. We noticed that it was going to be a hazy day and at one rest stop I turned to see behind us and noticed the mountains. They don’t seem to go away and they are nice to see from afar. Stopped to take a picture of some flowers I have not seen before and hoping Bill will be able to tell me what they are. Kind of funny looking if you ask me. We like to stop to read the historical sites and this one about sapphires was pretty interesting. I wonder how many more sapphires are out there to be mined. As we pedaled on, we came to a huge place with all these sectioned off corrals. They reminded us of the ones we saw 6 years ago and back then I called them cattle concentration camps. These today seemed nicer but am sure they are still there to be auctioned or heading to the slaughter houses. Poor things. As we continued, Hubs noticed a biker coming in the opposite direction. We stopped and he came over to chat. His name is David and he is from Albuquerque NM. He left there and  went down to the Mexican border and then headed up. He is on his way to California. We felt bad as he was going to have a headwind all day. He actually stayed 3 days in Lewiston as that is where his college professor retired to so he got some nice R&R. After a rest stop to get something to eat, we noticed when we left that the haze was different. I took a sniff and got a hint of smoke. Turns out it is smoke that came out of Alberta Canada today. Wasn’t here yesterday we were told.Hopefully it won’t be here tomorrow. We finally made it to Lewiston and earlier than I thought we would. We rode passed our motel as we were headed to pick up our 4 wheels for the next day. If we pedaled out of Lewiston we would have to go 150 miles without any services at all. That would be tough as no way to fill up on water, food etc. I know my legs will be happy and I am happy as we don’t have to get up early tomorrow. I bet you can’t guess where we had dinner? Yup, a brewery. It felt so good to be able to finally have a good salad. I have been missing my greens. Hubs had a Rueben with a side salad. It was yummy. Of course IPA and Pinot Grigio was needed to round it all out.

Today's ride: 48 miles (77 km)
Total: 2,586 miles (4,162 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Edward GriecoThis America is a beautiful country my father always told me , Enjoy your time,
Reply to this comment
9 months ago