Day 23 Browning MT to Cut Bank MT - 2 Biking Hobos - CycleBlaze

July 10, 2023

Day 23 Browning MT to Cut Bank MT

It was warm when we left Browning this morning and was happy to be leaving there. It is not a place we will want to visit again. It was a good biking day. We had some inclines but nothing really strenuous. I did take a picture looking back at the Rockies. We are definitely out of them. We did come across a herd of buffalo. It’s the first wild animals we have seen.(even though they were on someone’s property and not wild). We did stop to read a bit of history that was interesting. When we came upon these silos I thought I needed a picture. Farms, barns, silos etc are interesting to me but would not want to live on one. I also took a picture to show the vast openess of the land. We could see for miles. We stayed on route 2 as it had a great shoulder. It’s funny as previous days when we hardly had a shoulder or no shoulder the cars, trucks, campers etc would not move over. Today with the great shoulder they were all moving over to the other lane as they went by. We did bike about 1 1/2 miles of hopping grasshoppers. Hundreds of them. It was like biking in a popcorn machine except with grasshoppers. I was grossed out. I realized if I went into the middle of the road they were not so bad but when cars went by we had to get back on the shoulder. I do remember 6 years ago we had 3 days of these creatures. I think that was in Colorado so I never expected it here. Hubs kept asking me if I wanted to get a picture. What a you crazy? They are freaking me out as they would land on you too. So glad it didn’t last as long as last time. 🤞🤞🤞we don’t see them again tomorrow. Hubs gets fascinated with crops. He couldn’t resist stopping and checking them out. The first one he picked looked like wheat to me. He then noticed across the street it looked like a different color. I guess what is is, is beer barley. I got to see some of my girlfriends today. They were a beautiful color brown so not only did I have to say good morning, I had to get their picture. They are so inquisitive. We are finally getting into Cut Bank after a great ride. Again we were early but right before town we got a huge uphill that you guessed, we had to push. Grrrrr. We stopped for lunch and then headed to the motel. What a difference between this motel and yesterdays. Kelly, the lady at the desk was a hoot but very helpful. When the Boss, who I am assuming is the owner arrived I let him know how fantastic Kelly is.  We tried to get a train for tomorrow to take us to Glasgow MT as we will have a couple of days of long stretches without services but they don’t take bikes. When is Amtrak going to catch up like the trains in Europe. It’s so aggravating. We showered, relaxed and of course had to head out so Hubs could get his IPA. I lucked out as they also sold wine. It was a neat place. They also sold food so we stayed for dinner. They had one of those things you stick your head in so I had Hubs do it with me. There was a man sitting outside enjoying his beer so I asked him if he would take our picture. As he was taking it he started laughing. I found out why when I saw the picture. Yup, a Gary says Hi picture like Carol Wood says. 😅.  We ended up having a great conversation with Jim. He is Indian, his mother from the Flathead Tribe and his father from the Blackfoot tribe. It’s amazing what you learn from people that you would never know

Looking back at the Rockies for the last time
Heart 1 Comment 0
The heard of buffalo
Heart 3 Comment 1
A little bit of history
Heart 2 Comment 0
The monument they built
Heart 1 Comment 0
More vastness
Heart 1 Comment 0
Loved this
Heart 2 Comment 0
Pretty neat silos
Heart 1 Comment 0
Curiosity gets the best of him. Hubs had to check it out. We tried to stop 2 different farmers as they were going by to find out what this is, but even though he raised his finger to stop them, they just waved as I guess they thought he was waving 😀
Heart 1 Comment 1
Nancy PitmanLooks like wheat
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
This is the mystery plant
Heart 1 Comment 1
These are the 2 different ones. Different colors
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltProbably barley

https://stock.adobe.com/ch_fr/images/barley-hordeum-vulgare-rye-secale-cereale-and-wheat-triticum-aestivum-three-types-of-cereal-on-a-slate/114020523
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
The Brewery we went to
Heart 2 Comment 0
A list of the beers and they had keg wine
Heart 2 Comment 1
Had to have our picture taken. Aren’t we cute
Heart 2 Comment 1
Edward GriecoOh Gary , but why?
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
I had already taken a sip of my wine but I would say it is a Hart House Pour.
Heart 2 Comment 1
This is Jim. He was so interesting to talk to.
Heart 0 Comment 1
Edward GriecoHe’s a happy little fellow 😂
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
This is Louie the owner of the brewery. Nice guy
Heart 1 Comment 0
Some of the hops they are growing to make the beer.
Heart 0 Comment 0

if you didn’t meet them. Then the owner came by so Jim introduced us to Louie. Nice guy. So now we are back at our room relaxing. Tomorrow we head Conrad MT. It should be 48 miles. Let’s hope it is easy rolling but I am sure there will be some sneaky hills in there some where.

Today's ride: 35 miles (56 km)
Total: 2,795 miles (4,498 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0