Eye of the Storm - Crossing the T.....Part One - CycleBlaze

April 11, 2024

Eye of the Storm

Timing is Everything

John’s Story

Yesterday my wife and I drove to Pensacola to drop me off for the start of the tour tomorrow.  The weather was awful! We were pelted most of the way by a moderate to heavy rain. 

We’ve been driving northwest to southeast, so we went through most of this weather.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Yesterday’s unchanging scenery.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The rain tapered off briefly about the time we got Mobile, but then started up again as we headed east towards Pensacola. The weather radar looked like we went through the center of the storm system.

The eye of the storm! 😱
Heart 0 Comment 0

Finally arrived in Pensacola. Windy! Rainy! We found a nice seafood (what else!) restaurant open in Pensacola Beach. I checked the then current local weather alerts on my phone as we sat in the restaurant.

  • River flood warning #1
  • River flood warning #2
  • River flood warning #3
  • Flood watch
  • Flood advisory
  • Rip current statement
  • Small craft advisory
  • Wind advisory
  • High surf warning
  • Gale warning

In addition there were signs placed along the road warning against going into the water. Weather not conducive to a stroll along the beach, though we did at least take a boardwalk from a parking area through the dunes to see the Gulf.

Carol was nice enough to let me take her picture while she was pelted by the wind-driven rain.
Heart 3 Comment 0
The line of storms already east of Pensacola when we arrived had damaging winds and some possible tornados. There are lots of pictures online today of downed power lines and traffic signals, and huge trees fallen on roads and homes.
Heart 0 Comment 0

It rained until at least midnight last night. This morning we woke to clear skies and a stiff west wind, 30-35 mph. Tomorrow the wind should lay down to 10-15 mph and turn to the northwest, so something of a quartering  headwind to start the tour. 

BUT, we’re not going to start in the middle of a storm. Or into a strong headwind. Just lucky that we weren’t planning to start yesterday!

AND, the chances for rain over the next week along the route are low to non-existent, and after tomorrow we should get a tailwind for at least a week. I hope the forecasts around here are more reliable than the ones at home!

Bill Shaneyfelt, if you’re out there, this is my first mystery plant of the trip.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltPossibly largeleaf pennywort. Took a bit of searching... a flower shot would help nail it down.

http://www.southeasternflora.com/view_flora.php?plantid=800
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Heart 2 Comment 0
It’s growing amongst the grass on the dunes facing the Gulf at Pensacola Beach.
Heart 1 Comment 0


Carol left this morning to head back to Memphis to catch a flight to Hawaii to visit our daughter. It’s about noon as I write this. She just called to tell me that she’s run into rain again. 

Not as dramatic as yesterday’s weather radar, and it’s going away!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Ed should arrive here this afternoon. We’ll seek out a vegan restaurant this evening to satisfy his twigs and seeds appetite. then we’ll be ready to go in the morning!


Ed’s Story

I arrived in Pensacola around 3:30 this afternoon having driven 920 miles over the past 2 days.

I ran into rain on and off the entire drive although none was as severe as what John ran into.

Overall the drive was uneventful. There was a slowdown just north of Cincinnati that turned into stopped traffic. Eventually we started up but we were diverted from the southbound lanes of I75 across the median and were redirected to the northbound lanes. I didn’t see the accident.

After about a 10 mile detour I rejoined I75 south about 1/2 from where I left it. Looking north I saw a slew of emergency vehicles. What happened I don’t know. I ended up with over an hour delay.

Wednesday night was in Goodlettsville TN (just north of Nashville). When I took my bike in the front tire was flat. I opted not to repair it until I got the Pensacola the next day. I did put 40 pounds in before I went to bed and it held. When I got up this morning, I pumped it up to 80 pounds and it held. Some type of spontaneous decompression without a flat. Not sure what type of that was. Dinner was at a Mexican restaurant followed by a walk through a near empty mall, not only empty of people, but half the stores were boarded up. I guess the indoor mall is dead.

The theme of the stay was let the losses begin. I lost a lightweight yellow wind jacket and an i-phone charger w/cord. The jacket was probably left on the luggage cart and the charger fell out of my bag. Let’s hope that’s all I lose.

Today more rain. I was finally able to visit a Buc-ee’s. Buc-ee's is a rest stop, gas station, souvenir shop, and restaurant all in one. I guess they are famous for their jerky. Their mascot is a beaver.

Buc-ee and I.
Heart 3 Comment 0

After meeting up with John and emptying the rental we headed to town for dinner and a beer.

German kolsch at Perfect Plain Brewing Company.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Tofu stir fry with Jasmin rice at SaBai Thai.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Some breakfast shopping then back to the hotel. Rental car turn in tomorrow then about a 40 mile day to Gulf Shores State Park in Alabama.

Until next time, happy biking.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Kelly IniguezHurray! I'm excited to have your journal to follow. Tailwind riding sounds great. I'm crossing my fingers for you.

It sounds like you made a nice deal - a trip to Hawaii for a big bike tour. I have a friend who wanted to ride the Northern Tier. A new kitchen (installed) was the price he paid for the privilege of three months away from home.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Nancy GrahamI often tell myself, and it is often true, ‘bad beginning, good ending’. And it is looking like your bad beginning will now switch in your favor. I am so happy to follow along with your journey. Stay safe.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago