Day 7: An accomplishment - It's Something To Do - CycleBlaze

June 8, 2017

Day 7: An accomplishment

Today was one of those days where you just feel good about getting there. Leo, Steph and I had one of those days in Scotland, where we were pelted by rain, wind and cold all day, but we had to reach our objective and we did.

Today it was heat. I had a great ride out of town from Walla Walla over the rolling farm lands to Dayton, where I had a nice lunch at the local cafe.

But it was getting hot. The next town of Pomeroy was 36 miles and the forecast was for temps of 95 degrees, thats F not C.

Still, it was only 2:00pm and I wasnt gunna sit all day. So I loaded up on 2 sugary drinks plus full water bottles, and grabbed a kit kat as well knowing full well it would melt but, what can I say, I like Kit Kats, and I really only get to eat them on bike trips because, you know, they are really not good for me.

Anyway, 38 miles isnt that far but it was hot, as I just mentioned. About a third of the way there I stopped and drank my first pink vitamin water. At the half way point I took out the Kit Kat, opened a slit in the wrapper and sucked out the congeled goo, with occasional crunchy bits mixed in to remind me it was supposed to be a candy bar and not really thick hot chocolate. Of course it was all over my face and hands, but who cares it was delicious.

With 12 or so miles to go I stopped at a little rest stop what was more like a fork in the road with an outhouse, but a lady was there and gave me 3 water bottles when I only asked for one.

The last section was tough but beautiful, a small valley with occasional farms and other pretty scenery.

And when I finally rolled into town, around 6pm, it felt pretty good to have made it.

My first stop in town was the sheriffs office. Yes I can stay in their city park, cyclists to it all the time, but no tent stakes allowed. Weird. But I didnt ask questions.

"Can I sleep under the pavilion?"

Yes I could, so I did. Nothing like free camping.

Tomorrow I am bound for Lewiston. Until then...

(Pictures soon. I didnt have time)

Today's ride: 77 miles (124 km)
Total: 349 miles (562 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0