Day 5: Junk food conundrum - It's Something To Do - CycleBlaze

June 6, 2017

Day 5: Junk food conundrum

Dragging ass today. I know my readers have delicate sensibilities but sometimes the truth is harsh.

It could be 4th day syndrome, also known as 3rd day syndrome? It happens sometimes, at that point earlyish in the trip when your body comes to the realization that this trip is for real and thinks, "this could get painful. Brain what are you thinking up there?!"

But I dont think its that. I have been trying to eat healhty, like I was doing at home when I lost 10 pounds over the winter; no cow milk, limited wheat, almost no sugar. So today I had an inspiration, maybe trying to eat like that doesnt work on a bike trip.

So I started with one of those bottled teas at my second breakfast in McNary, it was all natural, which means that the water, tea flavoring, sugar, and greenish coloring are "natural".

I felt a bit better after that. Then, at lunch in Umatilla I got fixins for a ham sandwich, plus 2 vitamin waters, which consists of water, sugar, synthetic chemical vitamins and pink of some kind, or red depending on my mood. I refuse to drink any drink with blue, its just wrong.

Anyway, I think it worked. I felt better.

So there you have it. I will still avoid cows milk, more or less, but as for the rest of the junk food, its katy bar the door from here on out.

As far as todays ride it was nice enough. I crossed back over the River into what is clearly dry, deserty terrain.

I stopped at Hat Rock start part where there was an RV park, a Place that is supposed to be a Good Sam place that is like an RV park chain. Which usually means it is a decent place that keeps the rif raf out. But this place was kind of a dump, at least as far as the tent sites. And i dont know for sure but it looked like some of the campers were permiment residents, which is just wierd. When the school bus stopped letting the kids off who lived there it was clear. Wierd. I moved on.

I stopped down the road at White Sands camground which is a corp of engineers place. Beautiful spot that other crazy guy bikers have stayed at, i saw it in their journal, but now is closed to camping. A retired couple was there and said they were staying and camping. I stayed a bit and consided it, I was pretty pooped by now, even with being hyped up on sugar, but in the end decided to move on. I rolled into Peirce's RV park with only 30 or so minutes of light left. They had no showers but it was clean and quiet and not wierd. I cleaned up as well As possible, sat inside my tent eating peanut butter on sourdough bread and drinking some brightly colored drink I cant recall the name of, while mosquitoes unhappily and unsuccessfully tried to penetrate the tent mesh. It took me all of 60 seconds to fall asleep.

Tomorrow Walla Walla. Home of the sweet onion.

Nice bike lane on bridge at Umatilla
Heart 1 Comment 0
Cool dam. Check out fishing boat for scale.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Late in the day. Nice views
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Ok this is just an orchard. Apple I think. But The only place I have seen orchards like this is in Switzerland. I assumed trees pruned like this because it takes less space, which is less of a problem in the U.S. of A.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 64 miles (103 km)
Total: 239 miles (385 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0