Day 1 - Heros to the MAX: Portland - It's Something To Do - CycleBlaze

May 30, 2017

Day 1 - Heros to the MAX: Portland

I don't like riding through cities, even a bike friendly city like Portland, so when I booked a hotel about 15 miles from the train station I always knew there was a chance that I wouldn't ride the whole distance out of town, especially since i have not been feeling well and almost postponed the trip altogether at the last minute. But when the train was late that was the last straw, and the excuse I needed to take the light rail out of town. So i got on the MAX, Portland's light rail.

Unless you have been hiding under a rock, dont watch or listen to any news, and dont surf the internet, or maybe if you are not from the United States, you might not have heard about last Friday's incident that happened on the Portland MAX.

A man was serioulsy harassing two young women with an angry hate filled tirade. One woman was African American and one a Muslum. When three men came to the women's aid, the man pulled a knife, killing two (one an military veteran) and injuring the third.

I mention this because it was clear that there was a noticible police presense around the stations and on the trains today. Even the locals noticed. One group of police was 10 strong and looking in on cars. I guess they dont want any copy cats?

I won't comment on the political side of this incident, that is for another forum, except to say I cant believe it has come to this.

And I don't normally like to debate who is and isnt a hero. But if those three are not hero's I dont know who is?

I dont have a good ending for this story. But it was on my mind and, I feel, something worth saying.

As far as riding part, the 7 miles from the light rail to the hotel was uneventful. Tomorrow is suppose to be decent weather with winds from the west, which couldnt be better since I am going east, following the Lewis and Clark trail. I am super excited to be touring again. Cant wait to hit the road!

Until then...

Today's ride: 7 miles (11 km)
Total: 7 miles (11 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0