Pacific City to Nehalem Bay - Tea for Tim - CycleBlaze

May 4, 2012

Pacific City to Nehalem Bay

It's amazing to think that I sleep better in my tent than I did last night in my motel room. It made up for it though with the convenience of having everything so readily to hand and not having to pack away a wet tent.

After arriving at the Post Office at opening time and sending the parcel I was on the road by 9. A word of warning to anyone considering posting items back to Europe, be warned that it is VERY expensive - $44.70 for a box weighing up to 3lbs. The weather for the day got progressively better with the rain turning to showers that became less frequent.

Looking south from Cape Lookout.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The morning was like a dream, quiet roads, beautiful scenery and interesting locals to chat to, including a beachcomber looking for Japanese glass fishing floats washed up on the beach. Apparently the debris from their tsunami is starting to get washed up on the Pacific coast now. If anyone is undecided whether or not to cycle the Three Capes Scenic Route, my advice would be to do it without hesitation. After I got to the outskirts of Tillamook my dream was shattered by the reemergence of the 101 and it's evil friend the wind. After battling with this dastardly duo I made it to the Nehalem Bay State Park Campground and pitched on the hiker biker site where a couple from Wales turned up shortly afterwards, and a Canadian couple, Dave and Lisa, after them.

Suprise #1 of the day.
Heart 1 Comment 0
There's some cool place names around here!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I am now reaching the end of my ride through Oregon, with only 1 days riding to go to get me to Astoria where I shall cross the bridge to Washington, so I am quizzing all southbound cyclists to find out about their campsites, and for general route advice. A detailed map of Washington will go on my "to do list" for tomorrow. All I need to do now is to remember to look at it.

Lunch stop at Oceanside. The more observant will notice that the Crocs are no longer on the front rack, having been posted home this morning.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 64 miles (103 km)
Total: 1,150 miles (1,851 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0