Ferry (the bikes) Across the Mersey - Three old blokes tackle the Tasmania Trail - CycleBlaze

March 14, 2022

Ferry (the bikes) Across the Mersey

Sheffield to Golden valley (via Paradise)

It might have the shortest day in distance but it was by far the toughest. It really feels like we’re now on the trail proper. The early part of the ride was through two gorgeous valleys with long climbs and sweeping descents. Then we hit some steep hills through blue gum forests planted for pulp export and old native forests that hopefully won’t get chopped down.

Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
You can do it!
Heart 7 Comment 0

There was a lot of pushing involved and then finally the highlight of the day; a long sweep down to the Mersey River.

I blame the government for not building a bridge here
Heart 7 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

We did the river crossing twice, first with the bikes and then returned to get our panniers. My old sea kayaking shoes came in very handy;  the other guys just waded in with their cycling shoes. 

Heart 5 Comment 1
Cherie McLeanWho's the spunk in red...💕
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
I knew the salad sandwich I bought in Sheffield would get a bit mashed, but I can’t work out how the top slice of bread worked it’s way to the middle.
Heart 7 Comment 1
Cherie Langley😂😂😂 some rough trails?
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

We had a well deserved lunch on the other side not realising around the corner was a 30 degree scramble up a slippery bank that took 2 of pushing and pulling the bikes to get them up. Having departed Sheffield at  9.30 it was now 1.15 and we’d barely covered 30ks. And the chances of a long downhill after a river crossing are pretty remote. The hills got steeper and we spent more time pushing . 

Heart 6 Comment 1
Cathy PrestonIt really looks “gently undulating” 🤣🤣
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
My handle bar end mirror lets me keep an eye on everyone.
Heart 7 Comment 1
Cherie LangleyLoving your photos. They really help put us with you - without any pain! 💗
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Pete cursing under his breathe.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Finally the top! And I searched and searched but I never saw Paradise. I was looking for the cinema as well!  I even had planned for Pete to take a video of me running towards the sign saying ‘Paradise’ with the caption being “Baby…meet me at the grocery store”. Wasn’t to be!  I guess it was Paradise lost.

Tour de France photo no 2
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
The 3 amigos captured by a kindly fisher person who took 16 goes to eventually get one shot that included full torso’s.
Heart 7 Comment 1
Cherie McLeanAnother of my fav pics of the tour!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

We hit the 50 k mark by 4.45 and finally turned onto a sealed road for the last drag into Golden Valley. I was thinking how good it was that I hadn’t had a flat tyre, which was a bad thing to think about as it leads to only one thing. I got the dreaded rear wheel bounce but the tyre was not completely flat so I took the lazy option and pumped more air into it hoping it would get me the last 5ks. I stopped about 3 more times and pumped my little heart out until we finally rolled into Quamby Corner caravan park a bit after 6pm.

Even the bikes were tired.
Heart 8 Comment 0

We are all totally stuffed after 1300 metres of climbing. A warm shower and some Steve inspired master cheffing and suddenly the world is a whole lot better (apart from Covid, Ukraine, Morrison floods etc).

Heart 8 Comment 0

Tomorrow should be an easier day, I’m hoping!

Today's ride: 67 km (42 miles)
Total: 236 km (147 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Penny FordBet you’ll all sleep well tonight.
🤞gently undulating tomorrow
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Dennis LangleyThanks Penny. Hope you’re feeling well and back on the bike. Dennis
Reply to this comment
2 years ago