To Reinosa - The Seven Year Itch - CycleBlaze

May 15, 2024

To Reinosa

We’ve been anxiously watching the weather reports for the last few days, worried about the two rides ahead - in fact, worried about conditions for the rest of our few remaining days in Spain.  Last night we got a reminder of how badly things could go when we stayed warm and dry in our room watching the rain pour down and the occasional flash of lightning and rumble of thunder.  

We’d hate it If it’s like this tomorrow. Train and bus schedules have been studied just in case.
Heart 3 Comment 2
Karen PoretWell, I arrived in the Netherlands two days ago, and this has been my riding fare so far! Unfortunately my rain jacket is NOT holding up as it should. Praying for cleared skies..eventually!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Karen PoretI’m sorry to hear it, but not surprised. It’s looking like it might be a wet summer. Good luck!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago

This morning though it’s a relief to see clear skies and the report that rains aren’t due to arrive until around three.  With a short ride ahead to Reinosa, for today at least we’ll be fine.

The view south from our room this morning. These are the rocks I passed by on my walk yesterday.
Heart 5 Comment 0

We make it down to the bikes around ten, and I’m puzzled to find that my saddle is damp.  Maybe the wind was strong enough to blow rain in under the shelter we’ve parked them beneath?  But then I look up.  Oh, crap.

I still can’t believe this was a solid covering when we parked here. If I’d noticed, we’d have gone back into the hotel and pleaded for a dry spot indoors somewhere.
Heart 0 Comment 1
Karen PoretThis is one reason why I ALWAYS put a bike seat cover on mine..rain or shine..
Reply to this comment
2 months ago

So that’s a poor start to the day, but at least it’s not raining as we bike out of town.  I stop on the way out for a last shot at the castle, and then a half mile later I’m watching for a chance to pull over and oil my grinding, rusting chain.  Fortunately that hushes it down for now, but I imagine it won’t be long before. Trip to the LBS is needed.  Every time I think of it I feel angry at the hotel and myself.

Looking up at the castle on the way out of town. Below it is the Church of Saint Cecelia, which looks worth a look when we come back.
Heart 5 Comment 0
The first miles of the ride are on this terrific new bike path.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Not a pretty sight.
Heart 0 Comment 3
Bill ShaneyfeltIf I could still hear, that might be somewhat disturbing... An advantage to going deaf is not being able to hear irritating sounds... The disadvantage is grinding things to death because of neglecting maintenance.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Ben ParkeShould be ok if you lubricate it well. Rusty chain happens. Some of us end up riding our bikes in the rain and our chains do live to tell about it. Then others of us buy a velomobile so us and our chains never have to get wet ;)
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Ben ParkeYes, I’m sure a tandem velomobile would be just the thing in hilly Spain. Thanks for the tip!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
This is a prettier one, as we enjoy several miles on this colorful path.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Beautiful! Even the clouds building up add to the scene, if you don’t think bout them too hard.
Heart 6 Comment 0
On days like this where we’re trying to make time it helps that Rachael can take a decent road shot with the GoPro. I don’t feel as pressured to stop as often for my own shots.
Heart 3 Comment 0
At the high point of the ride and off on a smaller road, we’re back in the snow pole zone.
Heart 7 Comment 0
Finally!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Beautiful country, and a ride I’d enjoy repeating some day.
Heart 4 Comment 0
As we near Reinosa we’re seeing more and more horses. Here they’ve taken over a roped off section of a public walking path.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The last of the few passes we’ll cross in Spain this time through.
Heart 2 Comment 0

The rain isn’t forecasted to arrive until about three, but when we cross the last summit and start a descent toward our town it’s apparent it’s coming in a couple of hours early.  I put the camera away and we bike fast, hoping to make it to our hotel before the rains arrive.

Race!
Heart 1 Comment 0

We lose the race, but at least the first showers don’t come until we’re nearing the outskirts of town and there’s shelter here and there.  We pull off and hide under a slight overhang for a few minutes, debating whether we should break out the pannier covers or rain gear, but finally decide it’s not showering enough to bother.  We get wet over the remaining two miles, but not miserably so; and we’re relieved when we arrive at our hotel two hours before check in, find it staffed, and are let in early.  They’ve got a covered atrium in the back that the bikes go into (and this one really is covered, as I look up this time to verify), and then we quickly change for lunch.

Video sound track: Aeolian Tale, by Oregon

It could have been worse.  We’ve gotten spoiled and have gotten too casual, not really taking enough precautions for rain.  The iPads weren’t protected in a zip loc bag and my shoes were just riding on the top of my back rack uncovered, which Rachael helpfully pointed out wasn’t really a very smart plan.  It’s a good reminder, and we’ll do better.

I wasn’t sure about Reinosa in planning the tour, and we’re only here for the one night.  Now that we’re here though it looks like it would have been worth a second.  I at least got out for an afternoon walk during a brief break in the weather, and liked what I saw.

In Reinosa. Is there a name for this architectural style? We’ve been seeing it throughout the region.
Heart 1 Comment 0
This surprised me. I hadn’t noticed we’d be crossing the Ebro here, just beginning its long journey to the Mediterranean. It’s the longest river in Spain, and begins just west of here in Fontebre. If we had a second (and dry) day here, I’d bike out to see it.
Heart 3 Comment 0
A wash house on the Ebro.
Heart 6 Comment 0
There is a lot of mural work in Reinosa. If my walk hadn’t been cut short by rain we’d be seeing more of it.
Heart 3 Comment 0
In Reinosa.
Heart 1 Comment 0
In Reinosa. I wonder what the story is behind this one.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Keith AdamsI have no basis in fact to back me up but my first (and only) thought is villagers made into refugees by the Spanish Civil War.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
In Reinosa.
Heart 1 Comment 0
An homage to the workers in the town’s former steel industry.
Heart 3 Comment 0
#235: Rook. I took this shot without giving it much thought, assuming it was a carrion crow. Later though I realized its true identity, based on beak shape. We’re certain to get a better look at one up in Britain.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I’m less than a mile from our hotel room here. Looks like I shouldn’t go much further though.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Like I said, we’re in horse country.
Heart 0 Comment 1
Keith AdamsDraft horse's at that, it seems. That one on the right is certainly stout.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Definitely looks like a place worth a longer visit.
Heart 2 Comment 0
And a place worth seeing on a clearer day. The Picos de Europa aren’t that far west of here.
Heart 3 Comment 0
The Ebro again, and back in town. I’ve timed it just right. Umbrellas are just starting to pop open when I stop at the cafe I planned to get a snack at.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 22 miles (35 km)
Total: 1,518 miles (2,443 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 0