In Béjar: Monte Mario - The Seven Year Itch - CycleBlaze

April 28, 2024

In Béjar: Monte Mario

As expected, it’s another cold, unstable day today.  The agenda’s more or less like  yesterday’s: we’ll each take walks when it looks like they’ll fit in, we’ll meet for lunch, and we’ll study the weather reports to plan out the best approach for managing the seventy miles to Ávila where we hope for another multi-day stay. 

Midmorning looks like our best window, so Rachael takes the textile mill trail we showed you yesterday while I go off in a new direction.  We have mixed results with the weather though - she gets out about the same time as I do, walks faster, and gets back dry.  I dawdle for the usual reasons and am out longer - just long enough to catch a bit of rain on the way back to town, as well as some minor hail that’s unpleasant on my growing bald spot.

For lunch we return to the same place we ate at our first day here - and better educated now we manage to avoid ordering the blood pudding.

In the evening we conclude that for tomorrow at least the weather looks like it will give reasonable biking conditions so we commit ourselves and book a room in Piedrahíta, about thirty miles away.  After that we’ll think again.  Day at a time.

Consulting the real weather report, we look out the window and decide the signs are favorable this morning.
Heart 3 Comment 0
In Corredera Park. An appealing thing about Béjar is that even though it’s an attractive and interesting town it’s not overrun by tourists.
Heart 2 Comment 0
A girl in red on the bandstand. I caught her just in time, as she’s quickly exiting stage left.
Heart 4 Comment 0
An interesting, Italianate church in the hills. Later I’ll be surprised to finding myself walking right next to it.
Heart 2 Comment 0
In Aliseda Park, a small place on the Cuerpo de Hombre River about a half mile upstream from the textile mill walk. If I’d thought about it I could have folded up a paper boat with a note on it and dropped in for Rocky to pick up downstream.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The Cuerpo de Hombre River. On second thought, it’s probably too rough for that boat. It would probably capsize and wash up on the rocks somewhere before reaching Rachael.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Out of town now, I’m hiking up into the hills east of town. There’s a network of well marked and developed trails here, including one that’s a 12 mile loop that returns to town. Just right for Rachael, in the unlikely chance that we find ourselves back here someday.
Heart 0 Comment 0
An excellent trail. Well maintained, easily walkable. Also quite popular. I’ll see at least a half dozen other parties on the trail this morning.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Steve Miller/GrampiesLooks like one of our routes that somehow turned to this. Great for walking, not so good on a bike.
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
At regularly spaced intervals I pass these stone benches that look built from blocks of bluish granite.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Keith AdamsThat took some skill to make. Nice.
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
There’s not too much color in the woods this morning. Horse chestnuts are in bloom, a few isolated poppies, some wild lavender, and this stuff. Nothing like the dazzling displays we saw back in Extremadura though.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A little dark this morning, but very pretty and peaceful. I’m surrounded by dense oak and pine forest that is probably breathtaking in the fall.
Heart 3 Comment 0
In the valley below is the Cuerpo de Hombre River again. That looks like it must be another textile mill.
Heart 2 Comment 0
It’s pretty solidly overcast but there’s enough of a break for a glimpse at the Sierra de Gredo range. I think that’s the village of Candelario on the left.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Turning back, I’m surprised to see that I’ve got a view back over the town. I think I can even make out the stork tower outside our window.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Yup. Amazing. I can even make out the storks themselves.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Walking back to town, I’m surprised to find myself beneath that church I saw earlier.
Heart 3 Comment 0
It’s the Church of Santa Maria del Pilar, apparently abandoned now but I couldn’t find any information about it.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Looking back for a last glance, just before it started raining.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Sheltering until it blows over. It won’t be long.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Bill Shaneyfelt:-)
"Growing" bald spot seems a bit of an oxymoron!
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago