Day 47: Eastern time - What I Did On My Summer Vacation - CycleBlaze

July 21, 2010

Day 47: Eastern time

Short update tonight. I had a really good day on the bike but I'm kind of pooped, and when I say "pooped" I'm talking about being tired, not the other kind of poop. But I think you know that?

Anyway, last night was the first night it was so humid/hot I had a hard time sleeping, but I did sleep enough. It wasn't until about 4am that I felt a few raindrops. I pulled on the rainfly but that's all it amounted to.

I rolled out of the sack (it wasn't a real sack, that is a figure of speech) around 5am and started packing up my stuff. The it looked like rain was possible but none was falling. The plan was to pack up everything but the tent, leaving the rainfly on so if rain DID start falling I could through everything in (including myself) and keep it all dry until the rain stopped. It was the perfect plan and everything was packed and on the picnic table ready to go. It still hadn't rained so I took off the rainfly and started rolling it up. It wasn't until THAT moment that the heavens opened! I scrambled to put the fly back on but it was too late. The tent and rainfly were soaked. Three minutes later the rain stopped for the rest of the day. :-P

But because it's so damn humid around here there was no drying out the tent so I got a hotel tonight so I can dry everything out.

Aside from that, it threatened rain all day, everyone said it WOULD rain, but I just kept riding hard! I tried to take advantage of a good tailwind and I made good time.

The only other news is that I am now on Eastern Time. WOOO-HOOO! That's the last time milestone until I get to England...Oh, wait, that would be tougher?

The one interesting place I passed through was Bardstown. It is one of the few "non-dry" counties in Kentucky because they make bourbon there. The town was so NOT like most of the other towns, with interesting places (as in shopping, restaurants, historical stuff) that it didn't even seem like Kentucky. I'm not a big drinker by any means but it would be kind of fun to tour a bourbon factory, just for fun.

Aside from that, I will say I'm tired of this humidity. It's like riding a bike in a swimming pool all day. NOTHING dries...gloves, helmet pad things, jersey, socks, and most importantly, shorts. I'm thinking of riding with a diaper? I'll definitely appreciate the dry air a little more when I get home.

I only took a few pictures today and, frankly, I'm a little too tired to sort through them. I may wait and do a multi-day set of pics.

I guess that's it. I feel like I'm in the home stretch! Tomorrow I'm up for another big day.

Thanks again for all of the guestbook posts. I really appreciate it. If I don't respond it's only because of exhaustion, not because I don't see them! Karen

Today's ride: 88 miles (142 km)
Total: 3,712 miles (5,974 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0