Day 46 - What I Did On My Summer Vacation - CycleBlaze

July 20, 2010

Day 46

Woo-Hooo! It was great day. The first of the ride was a breeze, what with Tom carrying my stuff. Then, after he had to leave to go to the airport I didn't have far to go to make it a long day. In fact, I wanted to go further, especially since I was riding a tailwind all day, but there did not seem to be any places to stay (according to the map and the locals) in the next 30 miles...

...I stopped at a campground to ask about that, about places 10 or so miles up the road and the attendant said he knew of none. But then I looked around; and the place looked like a great campground. In fact, it was one of the nicest ones I have stayed at on the trip, it is run by the Army Corp of Engineers, it is right on a lake and immaculate. I picked a nice place right by the lake.

After a shower I rotated my tires, because the one in the back is getting more wear and it seemed like a smart thing to do? The campground attendant had an air compressor so I could get the right pressure and on the way back (while carrying my wheels) a man stopped me and we chatted for a minute.

A few minutes later, after I got returned to my campsite, he showed up with an invitation to join him and his family for dinner. The Offutts were really nice! They are from Wisconsin and come to the lake (with three other 'extended families) every year. I had home made chicken, fruit salad, beans the works! I sure appreciated the home cooked meal! Thanks Offutts! :-)

Oh, and it was nice having Tom visit for a day. Besides making my life easier on the bike today, we had some good laughs last night. He said he could have me in Virginia by tomorrow, if I wanted to get in his rental car, but I decided to finish what I started on the bike. :-)

Well, tomorrow is another day so I better get ready for bed. Tomorrow I go to Eastern time so I'm up for an early start and, hopefully, a big mileage day. I can't wait!

Until then...

P.S., I just finished my ice cream at a little resturant where I was updating my journal. I chatted with some locals for a while and when I asked how much the ice cream was one of the guys said, "its free." Turns out he's the owner. :-) People sure are nice sometimes.

Jonathan and Sharon -- my hosts from the previous night
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jon is a farmer and didn't want me to leave without a few vegetables
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is a little cyclist rest area someone made in their yard--cool huh?
Heart 0 Comment 0
From the ferry on the Ohio River--WOOO HOOO!
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Trucker likes ferries
Heart 0 Comment 0
My brother thought about taking the Trucker to Virginia but I wouldn't let him.
Heart 0 Comment 0
On the side of the road in Kentucky
Heart 0 Comment 0
Not sure what THIS is all about?
Heart 0 Comment 0
My cool campsite :-)
Heart 0 Comment 0
These are the Offutts. Thanks for dinner and a fun evening! :-)
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 101 miles (163 km)
Total: 3,624 miles (5,832 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0