Day22: A very nice riding day - Summer Tour 19, Heading north to Quebec City via Detroit and coming back south through NYC - CycleBlaze

Day22: A very nice riding day

Sunday July 7, 2019

Today I rode with a new purpose, but also in such nice weather that, even with a moderate headwind most of the day, riding was simply great fun. The new purpose was to get back into the States so I could get my back examined to figure out why, it can now be excruciating painful to stand and walk when I get up in the morning. It doesn't hurt to sit or to ride my bike all day, but it is getting increasing painful standing or walking when I haven't recently been riding my bike. The time it takes for that problem to come back after I have been riding has also been getting shorter. I am literally worried about being able to walk because the pain is so bad in my muscles. But I had a great ride today!

Perhaps the most interesting thing that happened to me today was that I met and visited with the first 'real' bike tourist I've seen on this tour. His name is Dave and he is taking a year to ride around he periphery of the USA. You might wonder why was in Canada, but up here around the Great Lakes that makes a lot of sense. it is simply easier, and nicer, to ride above the Great Lakes than below them. Been there, done that.

Dave is riding a bicycle that is LOADED. My bike, fully loaded, weighs about 65 lbs. His is more than twice that heavy. He told me that he needs to carry a lot of stuff because he is riding in all four seasons, but he also admitted that he probably would have had an easier time riding if he had cut back on some of that weight. We didn't have a lot of time to talk. Something about needing to catch up with someone who he is riding with who isn't so heavily loaded ;-}.

I'd read/heard about him from people on the touring email list and/or crazyguy and it was neat to meet him. It is always neat and, unless riding ACA routes in the US, very rare, for me to meet other tourists while I'm on tour in the US.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0