Day23: A not so great riding day, but with a nice ending - Summer Tour 19, Heading north to Quebec City via Detroit and coming back south through NYC - CycleBlaze

Day23: A not so great riding day, but with a nice ending

Monday July 8, 2019

I've run out of tortillas and this morning I tried, unsuccessfully, to replentish them. Tomorrow, I riding to Watertown NY to try to get some help with my back problem and, it turns out, to visit my daughter Sara's in laws who have a summer home near there. I just checked and there are multiple Dollar General stores there so I can get tortillas there.
Last night, my back was bothering me when I was in bed and this morning It took me half an hour of painful 'walking' in my room to get to where I could almost walk 'old man normal' to the motel lobby to get some coffee. After that walking break-in, I was able to get my bike ready to go and ride almost 60 miles to a neat motel in Kingston in a little less than six hours. There were times during today's ride when I questioned if I should stop early, but not because of my back. It was mostly because of boredom with long straight roads with lousy pavement, especially at the edges. Fairly early on, on a particularly bumpy section, my bad knee started hurting. It doesn't like impact forces and, even with fat tires at moderate pressure, it was getting too many impacts.

Tomorrow, I plan to ride directly to the urgent care place in Watertown with the best reviews and see if they can help me deal with my back problem. Then I'll play it by ear. I'll be in Watertown two nights and, probably with my daughters in-laws one more night before continuing with this tour.

In Kingston, I rode to the Welcome Travelers Motel. They had really good net reviews and they lived up to them. The best Canadian motel value of this tour. Since I was saving so much money, I rode down the street - really too to far to walk for supper - and ate a Greek Restaurant/Market. I even had a 'premium' Canadian beer. That was the best restaurant meal of this trip. The motel, which cost $57 was very comfortable and I had a great nights sleep.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0