Day 7 - Thouars to Parthenay - France, Top to Bottom - CycleBlaze

May 1, 2023

Day 7 - Thouars to Parthenay

I thought no one could obsess about the weather as much as my wife, but Donna gives her a run for her money. Each day she studies the weather reports and even though 60s or 70s are predicted, she frets about how she can put on enough layers to deal with the chilly mornings. She stays inside the hotel until the last possible moment before takeoff. This is probably good, because each morning I waste five minutes figuring out how best to strap my crocks onto my back rack. It ought to be straight forward. They are the same crocks and same strap every day and yet each day it Is like a puzzle I must solve.

I didn’t lose any hats today. At the end of the day, the chambre d’hotel owner did hand me my riding hat that had dropped off my bike in the street. Also, I did briefly look for my camera only to find it was hanging from my shoulder, though to be fair, I had swung it around to my back.

I would vote today as the best day of riding yet. We followed the Velo Francette route pretty much all day. It is very well marked and is mostly on small country roads with very little traffic. It goes through a number of small towns, each with an ancient church in the center. It was hillier than days past, but we've got our riding legs under us now and more hills burns more calories for more croissants.

Being May Day, everything was closed, but we were prepared for this with lots of food from yesterday. I have reorganized my panniers a bit and have now designated my front left fork-pack as the food pantry. The pantry was well stocked from yesterday’s foraging at the open air market, fromage shop, and boulangeries. The pantry can even fit a baguette if left unrolled, weather cooperating. Tomorrow, we are staying in a self-catered house, so I’ll have to stock up the pantry again on the way.

Street in Thouars
Heart 2 Comment 0
Church at the center of Thouars
Heart 0 Comment 0
Leaving Thouars
Heart 1 Comment 0
Not finding anything else to take pictures of, Doug is taking pictures of birds.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Airvault, where after confirming that all of the boulangeries (and everything else for that matter) was closed for the holiday, we ate our picnic lunch from supplies purchased yesterday.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Doug crossing a Roman bride.
Heart 2 Comment 0
A not uncommon sight at intersections in the countryside, though this was was a bit more elaborate than most.
Heart 0 Comment 0
One of the oldest churches in France, dating from 10th century. In Gourgé. Not all of it is that old as it has been added onto and repaired over the centuries.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I'm guessing the stone tower is the remains of an old windmill. Perhaps someone reading the blog will know?
Heart 1 Comment 1
Rich FrasierI'm not an expert but we have a lot of those down here in the south. I would say you're right: A windmill.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Crossing another bridge, but in the other direction.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Last little bit of riding for the day, in Parthenay
Heart 2 Comment 0
Street in Parthenay
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 42 miles (68 km)
Total: 342 miles (550 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0