Backstory and Plan - France, Top to Bottom - CycleBlaze

April 15, 2023

Backstory and Plan

When I graduated from college in 1982, my brother Doug and I took a week and bicycled down the California coast from San Francisco to Los Angeles. After that we each acquired jobs, wives and children, and bicycling was reduced to commutes and weekends. Thirty years later, Doug called me with a problem. He had too much vacation. Far more vacation days than his wife had, and he needed to do something about all his vacation days. I did not have a problem of too much vacation, but none the less, to help out my brother, we did another one week bike ride. This time in the Pacific Northwest where my family and I now live.

Fast forward another ten years and we have toured much of the Northwest in one week chunks. Doug and his wife (Donna) have done much better than that, even riding across the United States. But alas, I'm not retired like my brother and I have responsibilities. Fortunately, I do have a very flexible job and an understanding wife, so for this year, I decided we should step it up and do something a bit longer and more adventuresome. So why not France.

Below is the plan. We will fly into Paris, take a train to Saint Malo, bike for three weeks, then take the train back to Paris and fly home.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Shout out to Andy and Jane of FellowVelo, who planned the route for us, including booking all the accomodations. Also shout out to Lyn of Freewheelingfrance web site who recommended Andy to me.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0