Day 24 - ending at Morton, Illinois - Following the Straight Path - CycleBlaze

June 10, 2010

Day 24 - ending at Morton, Illinois

rode on Rock Island State Trail, River Trail of Illinois

Day 24 - Sheffield, IL to Morton, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0

Birds singing woke me up this morning at 5:00am. After getting the tent cleared out, I took some early-morning pictures of the area around Lock 22.

looking southwest at Lock #22 campground - Bureau County, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0
looking east at Hennepin Canal from Lock #22 - Bureau County, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0
some water slipping by
Heart 2 Comment 0
lift bridge at Hennepin Canal Lock #22 - Bureau County, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0

No one stopped by to collect the camping fee. The posting by the bathrooms said it could be paid at the park's office. I wasn't headed that way, so decided to mail it in when I got home.

My morning tire inspection revealed that the front tire actually had a hole in it now. This all started when I skidded back on Day 18. I took a picture of the tire and sent it to the persons on my email list with the question, "Will it do 60 more miles?" I received two responses from co-workers. Loren wrote, "I hope so! I'd hate to see you limping in on the rim." Mike responded with just, "No". I had approximating sixty miles to go to be home, so was really hoping that the tire would get me there.

I'll replace this tire when I get home
Heart 0 Comment 0

I ate breakfast, which was ginger snaps and the Starbucks Doubleshot. They went well together.

At 7:57am I headed south, a little sad that this was my last day, but also looking forward to being back home.

South of Interstate 80 was this underpass.

on CR-1550N looking south at US-6 through railroad underpass - Bureau County, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0

The going was a little harder than I'd expected (hills), but not too bad. I was heading a little out of my way to get to the start (end) of the Rock Island State Trail in Toulon. At 9:00am I was in Neponset, where I stopped at the Marathon gas station/convenience store for a second breakfast: chocolate donuts, apple pie, and orange juice. I purchased a Squirt as I was leaving for drinking later.

At 11:35am I was at the trailhead in Toulon, and stopped to drink the Squirt.

Rock Island Trail trailhead - Toulon, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0

I'd been here before, so it felt like I was getting close to home.

Decided to take one more picture using the camera tripod. I guess I didn't need to set the camera quite so far away.

after a ten-second dash
Heart 0 Comment 0

Not very far down the trail was a nice map sign, though I knew the way.

Rock Island Trail information sign - Toulon, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0

The bridge over the Spoon River has benches and bike racks right on the bridge.

bridge over Spoon River - Stark County, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0

At times, fallen mulberries were hard to avoid, and they were making a mess of my bike.

%** mulberries!
Heart 0 Comment 0
berry messy
Heart 1 Comment 0

At 12:45pm, I was in Wyoming (Illinois). That's where the trail's office is, but they were closed. There were bathrooms and water available, however.

Rock Island Trail park office - Wyoming, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0
water towers - Wyoming, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0

Here's a simplified route sign on the trail just south of Wyoming.

a basic trail map
Heart 0 Comment 0

Here's the trail south of Wyoming and north of Princeville.

bridge over Camp Run on Rock Island Trail - Stark County, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0
tree-lined path - Stark County, IL
Heart 1 Comment 0

I arrived in Princeville at 2:25pm, with my mind set on eating lunch at a place I'd been before. Before I got there, I saw signs stating that they'd moved. While trying to find their new location, I saw a place called Polar Bear Ice Cream. That sounded OK, so I stopped. This business was set up for sidewalk window service, but a park was just across the street. It turned out that this was the best food deal I came across on the trip - a hot dog and root beer float for a total of three dollars. It was good!

Back on the trail, I passed familiar scenes, including the corroded erosion sign.

sign erosion on Rock Island Trail - Peoria County, IL
Heart 1 Comment 0

Then under the overpass for the Union Pacific Railroad tracks.

where trains used to cross
Heart 1 Comment 0

Took a break at the Alta trailhead at 4:35pm. Then it was on through the tunnel under Route 6.

south end of tunnel under SR-6 - Peoria, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0

Shortly thereafter, at 5:10pm, I was at the end of the trail, and just in time for rush hour on Pioneer Parkway.

present end of Rock Island Trail at Pioneer Parkway - Peoria, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0

I walked the bike west to the first stoplight and crossed. Then walked back east on the grassy edge. But with the business driveways, and no sidewalk, it wasn't fun. I was passing another business parking lot when I notice there was a place to eat: Chicago Pizza and Grill. So I stopped with a new plan: eat supper now and wait out the worst of the traffic. I called home, reached Isaac, and told him to pass on the message to have supper without me, since I was eating now. What I had was a tenderloin sandwich with a can of Dr. Pepper and later, a bottle of lemonade.

last meal on the road
Heart 0 Comment 0

Back before the trip when I was setting up my route, Google Maps had suggested a very involved route for getting through Peoria on a bicycle. I was running out of space on the GPS's for more waypoints, and thought, "I'll just straight-line-it to the bridge." This may not have been the smartest plan. I made it through, but the roads were busy with limited shoulders, and I had to walk one block that was one-way in the opposite direction. Anyway, I was getting there . . . until I noticed the front tire was flat. I walked a block to a church parking lot and made quick work of my last (hopefully) flat repair. I noticed that the folded three-by-five card I'd used as a boot was actually the cause of the problem. The card's stiff edges had been wearing on the tube. I went ahead and put the card back in with the replacement tube, figuring it wouldn't wear through the replacement tube all-the-way again before I was home.

flat #5 repair at Trinity Lutheran Church parking lot - Peoria, IL
Heart 1 Comment 0

I thought of my morning email about the tire making it 60 miles or not, and the responses I'd received. Was it sixty? I couldn't tell. One GPS showed 56.71 miles and the other 60.16 miles. [Officially, it was 59.3 miles.]

Back in traffic (but it had lessened) and I was on the Bob Michel Bridge, the only bridge in Peoria that allows pedestrians/bicycles. Here's looking south toward the Cedar Street Bridge.

looking south at Illinois River from Bob Michel Bridge - Peoria, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0

On past Caterpillar to downtown East Peoria and the Hardee's located there. Seeing the Hardee's made me think how good a soda on ice would be. So I stopped for a Sprite, and took advantage of their free refills.

On across Main Street, and I was on the River Trail of Illinois, which goes right into Morton. I lingered here taking near-sunset pictures.

on River Trail of Illinois looking east toward home - East Peoria, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0
looking west with Peoria in the far distance - East Peoria, IL
Heart 1 Comment 0

Here's a 'near-miss'. I'm calling it a near-miss since it didn't hit me!

more berry mess
Heart 0 Comment 0

A little farther down the trail is where I took the last picture of the trip (it was too dark later for any more).

sunset on my last day - East Peoria, IL
Heart 1 Comment 0

I made it up the hill and into Morton at 9:02pm.

After a few residential streets, I was pedaling up Third Avenue. As I passed Jim's house (a block from my house), I saw him sitting in his driveway, apparently figuring I'd pass this way sooner or later. Jim was happy to see me, and even more so, it appeared, his dog Sandy. We talked for a moment. I told him I needed to check in at home, but I'd stop back by to see him later.

When I pulled into our driveway (at 9:15pm), I saw that Tahdra was also outside waiting for me. It's nice to be expected! And it was nice to be home.

Subject: Day 24 report
Sent: Thursday, 6-10-2010, 10:42 PM
Up at 5:00am (that's when the birds start singing).
Had breakfast (starbucks double shot, ginger snaps).
Left at 7:57am. In neponset at 9:00am. Had second breakfast at marathon station (orange juice, chocolate donuts, apple pie). Bought squirt for later. Was at rock island trail in toulon at 11:35am. Drank the squirt.
In princeville at 2:25pm. Stopped at polar bear for hot dog and root beer float.
At end of rock island trail at 5:10pm. The wrong time to be on pioneer parkway. Decided to wait and eat supper. Ate tenderloin, dr. pepper, and lemon aid at chicago pizza and grill.
At 6:50pm front tire went flat. Changed at church near main street. Ready to go at 7:14pm.
Stopped at hardee's in east peoria for sprite at 7:40pm.
At start of east peoria trail at 7:50pm.
Home at 9:15pm.
Second breakfast: $4.41; squirt: $1.06; lunch: $3.00; supper: $7.67; sprite: $1.45.
71miles, 8.0mph moving average.
Jeff
Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

Day Twenty-four: 70 miles in 13 hours, 18 minutes = 5.2 mph average progress.

Spent: $4.41 (second breakfast) + $1.06 (soda) + $3 (lunch) + $7.67 (supper) + $1.45 (soda) = $17.59.

Today's ride: 70 miles (113 km)
Total: 1,147 miles (1,846 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0