Post-trip - Following the Straight Path - CycleBlaze

Post-trip

Heart 0 Comment 0

Whole trip: 1147 miles in 230 hours, 36 minutes = 5.0 mph average progress.

Spent: $370.99 (food) + $414.54 (lodging) + $71.86 (car wash, pedals, sewing kit, sandwich bags, laundry soap/machines, inner tube, bar soap, tour donation, batteries, trail sticker) = $857.39 total for trip. Not included here are pre-trip costs, such as for food I started out with, and supplies I bought beforehand or previously had.

Here's a simple map showing the whole trip.

GPS tracks for whole trip - Illinois, Iowa, Wisconsin, and back to Illinois
Heart 0 Comment 0
elevation chart for whole trip - Illinois, Iowa, Wisconsin, and back to Illinois
Heart 0 Comment 0

I checked my weight when I got back: 200 pounds - a 16-pound loss. A little extra ice cream fixed that!

I slept late the next day (Friday), but not so late as to miss the breakfast at Cracker Barrel that Tahdra had arranged with George and Kris. In the afternoon I got the tent set-up to dry, and enjoyed watching a DVD movie with Tahdra and Isaac. It was a take-it-easy day.

It wasn't until Labor Day that I got over to Middletown, Iowa (using my truck) to see Uncle Gene, who I'd missed/skipped on Day 5. He was surprised (almost couldn't believe) that I was in his neighborhood on a bicycle, and asked all sorts of questions. On my next visit, we watched The Straight Story.

Gene and I both like ice cream!
Heart 0 Comment 0

During another trip (in January) to see Gene, I somewhat followed the route I'd taken on my bike, since I wanted to see if it would have been possible to get my bike across the closed bridge at Babylon, which I detoured around on Day 2.

E. Babylon Road, Fulton County, IL - May 19, 2010
Heart 0 Comment 0
E. Babylon Road, Fulton County, IL - January 22, 2011
Heart 0 Comment 0
a one-lane road to a barricade
Heart 0 Comment 0
Babylon Bend Bridge built in 1890 - Babylon, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0
frozen-over Spoon River - Babylon, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0

I probably would have tried crossing with my bike (if the barricades hadn't been there), but not with my new-to-me used truck!

The trip is over a year old now, and I still owe a few Thank You's:

Many recipients of my daily email reports sent replies back to me while I was on-the-road and afterwards. They were fun to receive. Thank you!

Though not mentioned earlier in this report, recognition needs to go to Glenda Mulder of the Laurens Public Library, who provided pre-trip information about camping at Laurens, and offered to receive and hold for me the left-at-home camera that I was going to have Tahdra mail forward. (I changed my mind after figuring out how to access the BlackBerry's memory card, which provided all the storage I needed for pictures.)

Once again, I have the www.gpsvisualizer.com website to thank for GPS data conversions.

Finally, thanks to www.crazyguyonabike.com for allowing me to post this report, and for providing a place for me to enjoy so many others.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0