Seville to Hinojos - Southern Spain and Portugal - CycleBlaze

October 26, 2017

Seville to Hinojos

Wow. Did I have trouble getting out of Seville. I literally rode around in circles. I had to get over the river to the west. At the hostel, I asked about riding over the bridges, and I was told that you can ride over any of them, and that there are bike lanes. I couldn't find a bike lane at the first bridge I tried to cross. Traffic was crazy, and the cross street before the bridge was a big dual carriageway. I went back and forth, side to side looking for the bike lane. I was stopped trying to decipher my maps when a guy walking his dog stopped and asked if I needed help. That's the first time in Spain that someone has asked! He told me that to get across the river I had to go 500 m north. I went north, and could see some kind of crossing, but couldn't  see how to get at it. After riding circles for a bit, I spotted an underpass under the road parallel to the river, and then found my way across. I ended up way north of my planned route, and pretty much adjusted on the fly. Remind me of this experience next time I'm headed into or out of a big city. I should think about taking a bus or a train.

There wasn't anything notable about today's ride. A few short climbs, a lot of olive trees, and some oranges, too. I was headed to a campground just south of Hinojos, but took a hotel at the last moment. I was really hot, and I want to make sure I can get a good night's sleep after 2 nights in the hostel dorm room. I'm at the Casa Rural de los Pinos, which has kitchenette in the rooms. It's actually sort of a small house. There is a separate living room and bedroom with twin beds on the ground floor, and a spiral staircase to a loft with 3 beds. I'm paying for using it for just one person, at 25 Euros. It's a little frayed around the edges, but comfortable. It smelled of cigarette smoke when I first came in, but the a.c. has helped with that.

The town of Hinojos doesn't have any special attractions, other than being close to the Donana National Park. I walked around and got some food. It seems nice enough, just a Spanish small town.

I didn't take many pictures today.

I'm in a new region, Huelva, headed toward the coast and then into Portugal.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 45 km (28 miles)
Total: 388 km (241 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0