Seville: Full on tourist mode - Southern Spain and Portugal - CycleBlaze

October 25, 2017

Seville: Full on tourist mode

I've been staying at the Black Swan Hostel near the Plaza Nueva in Seville. It's a friendly place, and the facilities are okay, as hostels go. They have a lot of activities to try to get people involved and interacting.

I started last night by joining a visit to a free Flamenco performance. It was fun, and energetic, but not too professional. There were actually 2 shows, at 10:30 and at 11:30. I slipped out before the second show and went back to go to sleep. Most of the group stayed, and then went to a club and drank shots into the small hours of the morning. I think the average age of the group, excluding your truly, was about 23.

I didn't have a great view of the dancer.
Heart 0 Comment 0

This morning I took a walking tour, covering much the area I did on my own yesterday, but with a guide to explain things. It was worthwhile. Among other things, I found out that the university building where I stopped yesterday used to be a tobacco factory, where tobacco from the "new world" was rolled into cigarettes.

Then I did a tour of the alcazar. It's absolutely beautiful. It's a meld of Christian and Muslim architectures, and the tour guide said that local people think that it inspires tolerance and cooperation between different cultures.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Lastly, I went back to the hostel for a paella cooking class. I was interested in finding put about what spices are used, but it's just a paella spice blend in a bottle. Of course we ate the paella, and it was wonderful.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0