To Huelva - Southern Spain and Portugal - CycleBlaze

October 27, 2017

To Huelva

I got an early start this morning, about 8:15 with the sun just peaking out. It was chilly, and I wore my wind breaker for the first half hour or so.

The area had occasional olive groves, and more frequent pine trees. The pines look like the caricatures of trees we draw back home, straight trunks with round balls on top. Our pines at home tend to be pointed at the top and get wider near the ground. I found myself wondering why they're so different.

The round top pine trees.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I stopped in Almonte for a second breakfast, after eating the first in my room. I had gotten turned around on the one way cobbled streets in Almonte, and then found the cafe with breakfast as I was approaching the road out of town. The cafe was crazy busy. My coffee and tostada with ham took 45 minutes. Between that and getting lost, I spent too much time in Almonte and the day had heated up.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Then I cranked my way to Huelva.

A large solar array on the route today.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The Rio Tinto. On the tours in Seville, we were told the yellow color used in Spanish buildings is the color of the soil. This is the first time the soil looked yellow to me, and it has colored the water.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I hadn't booked a room in Huelva, and the first place I stopped was full. I went on and found moderately priced Costa de la Luz and checked in.

After showering I went out for some food. I went from restaurant to cafe to bar, asking if the kitchen was open. Each place pointed me to the next, until I found a tapas bar and ordered a menu del dia. It was really good! My first course was a tomato salad with tuna, which was a whole tomato (cut open but not separated) with tuna drenched in olive oil. My second course was pork cooked in whisky, and it was nice and tender. The menu comes with desert or coffee, and I opted for coffee. I left very satisfied.

Then I wandered around the town a little bit, to a large park near the port on the river, and did a little bit of grocery shopping for tomorrow.

In Huelva, advertising for a movie festival.
Heart 0 Comment 0
In Huelva. I don't know what this is about!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Today's groceries. A trio of juice boxes, a trio of wine boxes, some yogurt thing for the morning, and a can of tea. The grapes are left from yesterday, and aren't too fresh now.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 59 km (37 miles)
Total: 447 km (278 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0