Hanging out in Lisbon - Southern Spain and Portugal - CycleBlaze

November 17, 2017

Hanging out in Lisbon

I took the free walking tour to get oriented to the city. It was a bit disconcerting that when I arrived at the square for the tour, two competing companies tried to get me on their tour and started insulting each other and arguing. I walked off, and came back in a few minutes when the tour started and joined the one that had been recommended to me.

Our guide for the walking tour, Ines.
Heart 0 Comment 0
In the Moralia neighborhood.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Random nose on a wall in Lisbon. In the Chiado district.
Heart 0 Comment 0
There are not-so-hidden slights to King Joseph in his statue, related to the way he abandoned the city after the earthquake of 1755. He is facing away from the entry arch and looking toward the east. The horses at the lower level are trampling people. There is an elephant in one side that also represents his interest in the east.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lisbon is proud of their Nobel laureate, and are celebrating his 95th ??? birthday.
Heart 0 Comment 0
In Moralia.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

After the tour I wandered around on my own, and eventually went out for a nice fish dinner.

The next day was about trip logistics. I put my bike in storage with a company called Lisbon Left Luggage, and planned a bus trip to Merida in Spain. I booked a different hostel for my return to Lisbon after the bus trip. I visited the hostel to verify that there was a spot for my bike that didn't involve small elevators or steep stairs. I booked a hotel, i.e. a private room, in Merida. I'll spend a few days there, come back to Lisbon for a couple of days, and then ride a small loop to Cascais and Sintra on my bike, before taking a train to Porto. I booked the train to Porto today, too.

After running around, I took the metro back to the hostel. I emerged from the metro station into the midst of a demonstration for worker's rights. I didn't understand the chanting, but I deciphered some of the banners. One in particular said "No workers under 15 years old."

I came out of the subway station into a demonstration for worker's rights. Value work and our workers.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I'm having dinner tonight with an Israeli guy who is staying at the hostel longer term, doing real estate deals in Lisbon.

Today's ride: 4 km (2 miles)
Total: 986 km (612 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0