To Lisbon: By train - Southern Spain and Portugal - CycleBlaze

November 16, 2017

To Lisbon: By train

The direct train from Setubal to Lisbon is the Fertagus. It runs every hour and more frequently during rush hour, and takes 50 minutes. I didn't want to get into Lisbon too early, as I wanted to be able to leave my things at the hostel I had reserved, and didn't want to get there during breakfast. So I dawdled a little bit and took the 9:58 train. I was able to just roll my bike onto the train. They allow 2 bikes per train, with a specific place for them. This place is up a small ramp in the car, and there is a leather belt for the wheel to prevent the bike from rolling back. There is nothing to hold it sideways, which is more of a concern to me since I could lock my brakes to prevent it rolling. My bike with panniers was much wider than the space allocated, but fortunately I had the only bike on board. Eventually someone put a rather large suitcase in the space for the second bike.

My bike is wider than the space allocated on the train. Good thing there wasn't a second bicycle.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

When we arrived in Lisbon, at the Sete Rios station, I took some time to get my bearings, and then followed my Garmin off toward the hostel. It was hard to follow, with many exits from the traffic circles, and I took one exit too early which was difficult to recover from. So although it was 4 km to the hostel, it took me about 8!

I had checked with the hostel about my bike, and was told I could put it on the balcony. What they didn't tell me, it that it's on the 3rd floor of an old building. When I arrived, I was told I had to carry it up the steep staircase, and that no one was available to help. Then I was told I could put it on the elevator, with the front wheel pointing up. Then another guest was recruited to help me. So we took care of it.

I went out and got some lunch, and then back to the hostel to check in and shower, and then out again for some sightseeing close to the hostel. I'm at the NLC Hostel, right on the Avenida Da Liberdade. I'm staying here for 3 nights.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
It sometimes feels like my trip is fueled by meia leite and pastel de nata. Here's the story behind pastel de nata, which seems to be available at every cafe including the ones at the filling stations.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 8 km (5 miles)
Total: 982 km (610 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0