To Merida (Spain): By bus - Southern Spain and Portugal - CycleBlaze

November 19, 2017

To Merida (Spain): By bus

Not a whole lot to say today. I got up and hung around the hostel for just a little bit. The delivery of the bread for breakfast had missed us this morning, so they had to get a special delivery and breakfast was even later than usual.

I took the metro to the bus station, and went to the office of Flexbus, from whom I had bought my ticket, to try to find out which platform my bus would leave from. Being Sunday, the office was closed. I went to the offices of 2 other larger bus companies that were open today, but they wouldn't help me. In fact, they were sort of rude, and said they didn't know where information was. I ended up going into the police station and asked how to find out which platform my bus was leaving from, and the policeman told me to watch the buses coming into the station until I saw the one I wanted, and to follow it to the platform. Sigh. Imagine an airport without a departure board.

I was early, so I wandered from platform to platform until I spotted one with a small Flexbus sign, and waited there.

There's a little green Flexbus logo on the left sign. It's hard to see in the picture, and hard to see in real life, too.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Before too long, other people showed up and everyone was asking if this was the place for Flexbus. It turned out that it was, and the ride to Merida was comfortable and uneventful. I'll admit that the bus leaning around the round-abouts made my stomach queasy, and I resorted to closing my eyes.

When we arrived in Merida, I decided to walk the mile to my hotel. I was glad I did. I crossed the old Roman bridge to get into town.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I also walked past the Temple of Diana, and some other ruins before I reached the hotel.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I had tapas at a bar for dinner. The restaurant the hotel recommended for dinner doesn't open until 9 pm. I need to remember to eat my dinner tomorrow before 4 when the restaurants close from lunch.

I'm staying at the Hostal Emeritus, recommended by Len DeMoss who is currently touring in the same region.  It's a nice place, but there is a bit of a bad smell in my room, and I'm having trouble getting the AC to run to get rid of it. That may be related to the cool temperature outside, so I've hesitated to ask the hotel reception to help me turn on the AC. After a few nights in hostels, it's a treat to have my own room with ensuite bathroom.

I'm looking forward to some sightseeing tomorrow.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0