Vondering to Mavora - Great Southern Highlands Circuit - CycleBlaze

April 21, 2017

Vondering to Mavora

During the night I woke with a sore throat. I'm hoping it is just from the cool dry air, but since I'm going to be away from any towns for a couple of days I needed something to treat it. Luckily I found a pharmacy which opened at 8:30am which left me just enough time to make the ferry.
It's stunning cruise down Lake Wakatipu, surrounded by mountains on all sides.

     

     

Soon the ferry arrived at Mt Nicholas Station, and I headed off down the Von Road to Mavora Lakes.

The route up the valley is surrounded by breathtaking scenery, and so very peaceful. There were only four cars on the road all morning. 

I made good progress until I reached the Von Hill at the head of the valley and began the long slow grind to the top.

As I was resting after a steep section, I heard a car coming up the hill from behind. It stopped and the driver called out the window and offered me a lift to the top of the hill. He was driving a bus with a bike trailer attached. It took me only an instant to accept, and we threw Grasshopper up onto the trailer and were soon on our way. 

The driver turned out to be Mick Barnett, the director off the Around the Mountains ride operator. Mick's company offers support services, shuttles and rides for cyclists along the route. I was surprised and very grateful for his kind assistance since I am not one of his customers. Anyone planning to ride the Around the Mountains ride would be well advised to look at the services Mick's company offers and would be very well looked after.

At the top of Von Hill, Mick offered to take me all the way to Mavora Lakes, but that's not what I'm here for, and I could see the valley opening out before me was every bit as scenic. So with many thanks we unloaded Grasshopper and I continued on my way, which was now mostly downhill. 

I reached the turnoff to the lakes by mid afternoon, and cycled through a cool and enchanted beech forest along the lake shore, looking for a clear sunny campsite. Eventually the forest thinned and I found a nice spot with water and a toilet and set up camp.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0