To Queenstown... - Great Southern Highlands Circuit - CycleBlaze

April 20, 2017

To Queenstown...

After yesterday's gut buster I had only a short ride today. So after a leisurely start and a lingering breakfast in Arrowtown and a cruise down the historic lane I set off on the back road to Queenstown.

The hills above Arrowtown are aglow with autumn splendour.

 

Under the Coronet Peak ski fields this helicopter seemed to be inspecting the power poles. It nearly blew me right off the road.

 

I was expecting this road to be downhill, but frustratingly it was slightly uphill most of the way, with a steep descent right at the end. I could feel the fatigue was still in my legs, so the ride was not as easy as expected. But eventually I rolled into the town and went straight to my favourite shop down by the lakeside for a cup of hot chilli chocolate, and watched the steamer docking nearby.

Only a short way down the lakeside I found my motel, complete with a stunning view across the lake.

It will be an early start tomorrow. I'm taking a cruise boat across the lake to Mt Nicholas Station, where I'll be riding back roads again down to Mavora Lakes.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0