Cooked... - Great Southern Highlands Circuit - CycleBlaze

April 12, 2017 to April 14, 2017

Cooked...

Cyclone Cook-ed that is. It's been raining more or less continuously since I arrived in Omarama, except for a few brief periods when I managed to perform some bike maintenance and get my clothing washed and dried.

Last night the rain was really heavy, but this morning it stopped, and the sky began to brighten. After spending yesterday cooped up in my tiny hut, I had cabin fever and wanted to to get moving.

By the time I got my gear packed and was ready to roll it was raining again. I hung around the cabin hoping it would stop, but eventually had to choose - stay another night or ride in the rain. I chose to ride.

Easter in NZ is just like back home - everybody gets in their car and rushes off somewhere for a four-day weekend. So I spend the morning sharing the state highway with a constant stream of traffic, in drizzling rain and road spray. 

Eventually I reached the turnoff for my destination for the day, and had immediate relief from the traffic. Soon after the rain stopped, and a few feeble rays of sun pierced the clouds, allowing me to capture this panorama of Lake Ohau.

Finally I reached the lakeside lodge and was able to get warm and dry. But it's raining outside again and I've just read in the NZ weather report that Cyclone Cook hasn't actually arrived yet. I dunno what tomorrow is going to bring

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0